The Largest Football Stadiums in Australia

The Melbourne Cricket Ground.
The Melbourne Cricket Ground.

A football (American English: soccer) stadium is a large structure, usually roofless enclosing a field where football is played. The structure comprises of tiers of seats for spectators at a sporting event. Australia has a wide array of football pitches and stadiums. Most of the stadiums in the country are used for more than just one sport, often including cricket and rugby leagues. The Australian football national team does not have a specific national stadium for the team, and the team is required to play at the different stadiums with high-level facilities available in the country.

1. Melbourne Cricket Ground

Located in Yarra Park, Melbourne, Victoria is the largest soccer stadium in Australia known as the Melbourne Cricket Ground or 'The G.' With a capacity of 100,024, the Melbourne Cricket Ground is not only the most famous cricket stadium in Australia but also serves as a venue for football events held in the country. MCG, having been built in 1853 ranks number ten as the world's largest stadium and the largest in both the Southern Hemisphere and Australia. The stadium is easily accessible as it is located within walking distance of the city center. In 2005 MCG was included on the list for Australian National Heritage and was cataloged in the Victorian Heritage Register.

2. Stadium Australia

With a capacity of 84,000, Stadium Australia located in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia is the second largest soccer stadium in the country. The stadium, which was formerly known as Telstra Stadium, is now commonly known as Olympic Stadium, Homebush Stadium or Sydney Olympic Stadium by the locals. The multi-purpose stadium was officially opened on March 6th, 1999 ahead of the 2000 Summer Olympics which Australia was hosting. The New South Wales rugby team has been playing the State of Origin home games in the stadium every year since it opened. The stadium also hosts the National Rugby League grand final every year.

3. Docklands Stadium

The third largest soccer stadium in Australia with a capacity of 56,347 is Docklands Stadium, a multi-purpose stadium not only for sports but also entertainment located in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. The stadium is also known by its former sponsored names which are Colonial Stadium and Telstra Dome and Etihad Stadium which is its present sponsorship name. The stadium, whose construction began in October 1997, was originally a substitute for Waverly Park. The stadium officially opened on March 9th 2000 following a construction cost of AU$460 million. It is also the headquarters of a digital broadcast center known as the Seven Network. The stadium is also principally used for Australian Football, commonly known as Australian Rules football.

4. Adelaide Oval

With a capacity of 53,853, Adelaide Oval located in Adelaide, South Australia is the fourth largest football stadium in the country. Adelaide Oval is a multi-purpose stadium mostly hosting cricket, and Australian Football matches. Other sports and activities hosted by the stadium include soccer, rugby union, concerts, and rugby league. Adelaide Oval has been the headquarters of the South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) and the South Australian National Football League (SANFL). The stadium, which was opened in 1871, is under the management of the Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority (AOSMA). Following the renovations to the stadium between 2008 and 2014, two of Adelaide's football clubs left Football Park returning to the stadium.

Which Are The Largest Soccer Stadiums In Australia?

1Melbourne Cricket Ground100,024Melbourne Victoria
2Stadium Australia84,000Sydney New South Wales
3Docklands Stadium56,347Melbourne Victoria
4Adelaide Oval53,583Adelaide South Australia
5Lang Park52,500Brisbane Queensland
6Sydney Football Stadium45,500Sydney New South Wales
7Kardinia Park34,074Geelong Victoria
8Hunter Stadium33,000Newcastle New South Wales
9Melbourne Rectangular Stadium30,050Melbourne Victoria
10Robina Stadium27,400Gold Coast Queensland
11Perth Oval27,000Perth Western Australia
12Willows Sports Complex26,500Townsville Queensland
13Canberra Stadium25,011Canberra Australian Capital Territory
14Ballymore Stadium24,000Brisbane Queensland
15Wollongong Showground23,750Wollongong New South Wales
16Parramatta Stadium21,500Parramatta New South Wales
17Campbelltown Stadium21,000Campbelltown New South Wales
18Central Coast Stadium20,059Gosford New South Wales
19North Sydney Oval20,000North Sydney New South Wales
20Knights Stadium19,890North Sunshine Victoria

More in World Facts