The Biggest Cities In Brunei

Situated on the northern banks of the Brunei River, Bandar Seri Begawan is Brunei’s biggest and capital city.

Where Is Brunei?

Brunei is a sovereign state located on the Borneo island’s northern coast in Southeast Asia. The country has a coastline by the South China Sea and is bordered by the Malaysian state of Sarawak. Brunei became an independent nation on January 1, 1984 after it achieved freedom from rule by the United Kingdom. Brunei is an industrialized nation and has the second highest HDI among the nations of Southeast Asia. As of 2013, Brunei had a population of 415,717. 76% of this population lives in urban areas of the country. Between 2010 to 2015, the rate of urbanization was 2.13% per year.

The Three Biggest Cities In Brunei

Bandar Seri Begawan

Bandar Seri Begawan is Brunei’s biggest and capital city situated on the northern banks of the Brunei River. Bandar Seri Begawan was declared a city in 1920 and encompasses an area of 100.36 square km. Formerly known as Brunei Town, the city hosts the Istana Nurul Iman, the seat of the government of the country and royal residence. The Istana Nurul Iman is the world’s biggest residential palace and thus has been mentioned in the Guinness World Records. Two offices of the country’s prime ministers are also located here. The Bandar Seri Begawan hosts a number of tourist attractions including several beautiful mosques like the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque, Jame'Asr Hassanil Bolkiah Mosque, and others. Historical sites in Bandar Seri Begawan include the Royal Ceremonial Hall, several tombs of important figures, the Brunei Museum, palaces and more. Several landscaped parks and recreational centers are also located in the city.

Kuala Belait

Kuala Belait is the second most populous urban center in Brunei and is located in the country’s southwest. The town serves as the Belait District's administrative center and is bordered by the South China Sea to the north. The Belait River from which the town derives its name is to the west and south of the town. Originally, Kuala Belait was a small fishing village populated by fishermen. The village gradually grew into an important town in the country. The town is located close to the onshore Rasau gas field. Several tourist attractions are also located in the city including the Silver Jubilee, Kuala Belait Boat Club, Tudong Saji market, the Istana Mangelella residence of the Sultan of Brunei, etc. Transport options are limited in this Brunei town.


Seria is a town in Brunei Darussalam’s Belait District. The town is located about 16 km to the east of Kuala Belait and the country’s capital, Bandar Seri Begawan is about 100 km to the north-east of the town. Seria is Brunei’s oil industry hub. It is here that Brunei’s first commercial onshore oilfield was discovered. Seria is actually located on the Seria Field that was discovered in 1929. The Seria Mosque, Oil and Gas Discovery Center, Sungei Seria estuary, Billionth Barrel Monument, etc., are some of the tourist attractions in Seria.

Which Are The Biggest Cities In Brunei?

1Bandar Seri Begawan 64,409
2Kuala Belait 31,178
3Seria 30,097
4Tutong 19,151
5Bangar 3,970

About the Author

Oishimaya is an Indian native, currently residing in Kolkata. She has earned her Ph.D. degree and is presently engaged in full-time freelance writing and editing. She is an avid reader and travel enthusiast and is sensitively aware of her surroundings, both locally and globally. She loves mingling with people of eclectic cultures and also participates in activities concerning wildlife conservation.


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.

More in Society