Where Is The Headquarters Of The Royal Bank Of Canada?

RBC in Toronto’s financial district Toronto, Ontario. Editorial credit: JHVEPhoto / Shutterstock.com.
RBC in Toronto’s financial district Toronto, Ontario. Editorial credit: JHVEPhoto / Shutterstock.com.

The Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) is one of the "Big Five" Canadian Banks, which also includes the Bank of Montreal (BMO), Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC), Bank of Nova Scotia (Scotiabank), and Toronto-Dominion Bank (TD). As of 2019, RBC was the biggest bank in the country by market capitalization, with over 15 million customers and 18,000 employees worldwide. The institution was established in 1864 in Halifax, Nova Scotia, but its head office is now located in Montreal, Quebec, and its corporate headquarters are in Toronto, Ontario. In 2017, RBC was listed as one of the most important financial institutions in the world. RBC operates more than 1,200 branches across Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean. In addition to banking services, RBC also offers investment services through RBC Capital Markets.

Headquarters Of RBC

The Royal Bank of Canada's first headquarters was located in the Merchants' Bank of Halifax Building in Halifax, Nova Scotia, from 1864 until 1907. The bank's head office was relocated in 1907 to the Four Pillars Building in Montreal, Quebec, where it remained until 1928 when it moved within the city to Royal Bank Tower (also known as the Old Royal Bank Building). In 1962, RBC moved its head office to Place Ville Marie, also in Montreal. In 1976, the construction of Royal Bank Plaza in Toronto, Ontario, was completed, and the bank opted to split its managerial functions between two locations. Management of non-bank functions, such as Capital Markets, Dexia, Dominion Securities, and Wealth Management remained at Place Ville-Marie, while its banking management and corporate headquarters relocated to the newly constructed Royal Bank Plaza.

Royal Bank Plaza

Royal Bank Plaza is a skyscraper in Toronto that serves as the operational headquarters of RBC. It consists of a North Tower, which was completed in 1976, and a South Tower, which was completed in 1979. Royal Bank Plaza was designed by Toronto firm WZRH Architects to serve as the headquarters of the Royal Canadian Bank and is currently owned by Oxford Properties. The North Tower is 367 ft tall, while the South Tower reaches a height of 501 ft. In addition to RBC's operational headquarters, the skyscraper also contains the bank’s Toronto Main Branch, a shopping concourse, and is part of the Path network of underground tunnels, which links the building to the Fairmont Royal York, Brookfield Place, the TD Centre, and Union Station.


More in World Facts