Where Does The President Of Ukraine Live?

Beautiful old house of crying widow in the center of Kiev, Lipky district. Editorial credit: lindasky76 / Shutterstock.com

The President of Ukraine is the head of state while the Prime Minister is the head of government. Mariyinsky Palace is one of the official residences of the president of Ukraine. The president represents the country in international affairs, including negotiating treaties and foreign policies. The president is elected to serve a five-year term and can only serve a maximum of two consecutive terms. Since the office was established in July 1991, there have been six presidents including Oleksandr Turchynov who served in acting capacity between February and June 2014. Ukraine is governed as a semi-presidential system; the roles of head of government and head of state are separate, and consequently, the president does not have much control over the government. According to the Ukrainian Constitution, the president must assume office within 30 days of being elected, but in the event of the previous president’s impeachment, death or resignation, the incoming president must assume office within five days. Either way, once the president takes the oath of office, he is constitutionally mandated to occupy the official residence of the President of Ukraine.

Official Residence Of The President Of Ukraine

Mariyinsky Palace

Mariyinsky Palace is one of the official residences of the president of Ukraine. It is located in the capital city, Kyiv, adjacent to the Parliament Building. The palace was constructed for Russian Empress Elizaveta Petrovna, but she died before it was completed and Empress Catherine II became the first royal figure to occupy the residence. In the early 19th century, the building burned down but Alexander II of Russia ordered it to be re-constructed in 1870. It was severely destroyed during the Second World War, but major restorations were completed in the 1980s.

House With Chimaeras

Horodecki House or House with Chimaeras is the official residence of the president for diplomatic and official ceremonies. It is an Art Nouveau located in Kyiv. Władysław Horodecki constructed the building as an upmarket apartment in 1902, but he was forced to sell it due to financial troubles. Several families owned it over the years until the early 2000s when the Communist Party acquired it. The house was restored according to the original plan and converted into the official presidential residence for diplomatic and official ceremonies.

The House Of Weeping Widow

The House of the Weeping Widow is another one of the official residences of the president. It was constructed in 1907 for wealthy businessman Serhiy Arshavsky. The majestic building is located at Lyuteranska Street and is considered an architectural landmark of Kyiv. The building received the moniker “Weeping Widow” because whenever it rains, water flows down the cheeks of the woman’s face on the facade like tears. The residence is used to house state visitors among them the Presidents of Brazil and Lithuania and former Secretaries of State Condoleezza Rice and Madeleine Albright.


More in World Facts