What Type Of Government Does Greece Have?

The Hellenic ​Parliament Of Greece.
The Hellenic ​Parliament Of Greece.

What Type of Government Does Greece Have?

Greece is a parliamentary republic and the President, the Head of State of Greece, is elected by the Parliament every five years. The government in Greece mirrors those in most western countries, complete with the three branches of the Executive, Legislature, and Judiciary. Elections in Greece are held after every four years to elect members of the Hellenic Parliament. Various aspects of the government of Greece are discussed below:

The President Of Greece

The President of Greece serves for a five-year term and may be elected to serve one additional term. Among the duties are include declaring war, representing the country in international organizations, granting pardons, concluding agreements of peace and alliance, formally appointing the Prime Minister, and appointing and dismissing other government officials through the Prime Minister’s recommendations. The Presidency in Greece is ceremonial and most political power lies with the parliament.

The Prime Minister Of Greece

The Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party in parliament and serves to unite the government. The Prime Minister together with the ministers and alternate ministers make up the Ministerial Council, which is the top decision-making institution in the country. The Prime Minister is selected by the President and is the leader of the government.

The Hellenic Parliament Of Greece

The Hellenic Parliament is made up of 300 parliamentary deputies elected after every four years by Greek citizens. The Parliament is headed by the Speaker. The Parliament undertakes the legislative functions of the government. Voting for the parliament is compulsory in Greece, and election of deputies is done through the secret, universal, and direct ballot. The Party with 151 or more seats in parliament assumes leadership, and its leader becomes the country’s Prime Minister and forms the government.

Judiciary Of Greece

Judicial duties in Greece are undertaken by an independent judiciary. At the top of the judicial system is the Supreme Court, which is the highest court of appeal and is comprised of both civil and penal sections. Administrative disputes and violations of laws are settled by a Council of State, which also revises disciplinary procedures relating to civil servants. Fiscal cases are decided by the Comptrollers Council. The Special Supreme Tribunal is the final court of appeal on disputes arising from the national elections and referenda.

The rest of the country’s judicial system is made up of administrative courts, magistrates’ courts, civil courts, courts of appeal, and courts of the first instance. Members of the judiciary are recommended by the Minister of Justice.

Ministries Of The Government

Administrative duties are vested upon the various ministries in the country. They include the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Development, Competitiveness, Infrastructure, Transport and Networks, Ministry of Health, Ministry of National Defence, Ministry of Agricultural Development and Food, Ministry of Labor, Social Securiy and Welfare, Ministry of Culture and Sports, and Ministry of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights.

Members of the Greek cabinet are appointed by the President, on recommendations from the Prime Minister. They form the Ministerial Council together with the Prime Minister, which directs the general policy of Greece.

Regional Administration Of Greece

Greece is made up of 13 regional administrative districts, and the head is the governor. The districts are further divided into 51 prefectures, each led by a prefect elected through a direct vote. There are also municipalities whose head is an elected official.


More in Society