What Is the Capital of Maine?

The Capitol building of Maine in Augusta.
The Capitol building of Maine in Augusta.

Maine is a state found in the northeastern section of the United States of America. It is bordered on the West by New Hampshire, on the northeast by New Brunswick, on the northwest by Quebec, and on the south by the Atlantic Ocean. Maine is the 41st most populous state in the US States. It has a population of 1.3 million people. Its capital is Augusta.

Maine Overview

The inhabitants of Maine are known as Mainers or Maineiac. This state is informally referred to as “The Pine Tree State” or “Vacationland.” About 83% of the Maine land is covered with forests, the most forest cover of any US State. There are many rivers, lakes, jagged rocks, cliffs, and bays. The state is harbored by many islands including the Isles of Shoals Island.

Maine is abbreviated as ME or Me. It was admitted to statehood in 1820. Before statehood, Maine was known as the District of Maine and was part of Massachusetts. The current governor and head of Maine state is Paul LePage. Maine state has no official language.

Maine is divided into 16 counties which include Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Somerset, York, and Waldo. These counties are also the political jurisdictions of Maine state. The largest county is Aroostook with an area of 6,829 square kilometers.

Augusta Overview

The capital city of Maine is Augusta. Other cities in Maine include Portland, Bangor, Lewiston, and Presque. Portland is the largest city in Maine with a population of 66,881 people as of 2015. Augusta is located in Kennebec County.


Augusta is the third smallest capital in the US by population after Montpelier, Vermont, and Pierre. It has a population of 19,136 people. In Maine state, Augusta is the 9th largest city. Augusta was declared the capital city of Maine in 1832. The capital occupies a total of 150.30 square kilometers. Out of this, 142.79 square kilometers comprises of land while 7.51 square kilometers is water.

The population of Augusta as of 2015 was 19,136 people. It is the easternmost capital city in the US.

Climate of Augusta

The climate of Augusta is classified as humid continental. It consists of wet, warm, and humid summers whereas the winters are cold and snowy. July is the hottest month with temperatures rising above 26 degrees Celsius. January is the coldest month with an average low temperature of -12.2 degrees Celsius.

Augusta borders Windsor to the east, Chelsea to the south, Hallowell to the southeast, Manchester to the west and Sidney and Vassalboro to the north. The capital of Maine is the county seat of Kennebec County.

Government of Augusta

Maine’s system of government comprises of a Mayor and the City Council. The City Council is in charge of all legislative duties of the city. There is also a City Manager who serves as the purchasing agent of the city. The Mayor of Maine is Davis Rollins. The capital has its own flag and seal.


More in World Facts