What Is The Capital Of Australia?

Canberra, Australia.
Canberra, Australia.

Australia is both a sub-continent and a country. The Australian continent is made up of the mainland and the other smaller islands. Canberra is the capital of the Federation of Australia and has been in place since 1913. The 100th anniversary of Canberra as the capital was held on May 12, 2013, celebrating the developments of the city. Initially, the capital was Melbourne until 1927 when it was transferred to Canberra.

Australia is the smallest continent and the sixth largest country in the world located in the southeast between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. Australia is bordered by Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, East Timor, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, and New Zealand,

What Type Of Government Does Australia Have?

Australia has a federal parliamentary monarchical government that was formed in 1901 after the six states in the continent united to form a federal Commonwealth government with the Queen of England as the head. Each state has the power to make its decisions that are not within the jurisdiction of the federal government. The Australian government is divided into three branches: the executive (enacts and upholds laws that have been made by the legislature), the legislature (makes laws) and the judiciary (enforces legislation and monitors the actions of the legislature and executive within the legal framework). The legislature has two divisions: the Senate and the House of Representatives whose activities are coordinated to make laws. There are two main parties in Australia; the Australian Labour Party and the Coalition which operate within the entire federation.

What Is The Capital Of Australia And Where Is It Located?

Canberra is Australia’s capital and the largest inland city. Canberra the only major city in the Australian Territory in South-western Wales state. The city is located between Australia’s largest cities Melbourne (northwest) and Sydney (southwest) and 150km from the Pacific Ocean.

History Of The Capital City Of Australia

Canberra was selected as the capital city of Australia as a compromise between the warring town of Melbourne and Sydney. Before the city was made the capital, it existed mainly as a European settlement in the 19th century; therefore, it remained a rural district during that period. Canberra was selected as the capital city after disputes in the Federation concerning the appropriateness of Sydney and Melbourne. The conflict ended with the selection of Canberra as the capital due to its proximity to Sydney and its location in New South Wales territory. While Canberra was being built, Melbourne served as the temporary capital where government offices were located. Canberra officially took over as the capital in 1913. From then, government offices were moved into the city. Canberra remained poorly developed until the reign of Robert Menzies, the prime minister, who initiated development projects in the city.

Present-Day Role Of The City As The Capital Of Australia

Being the first capital of the Federation of Australia, Canberra is an important symbol of independence and democracy. Canberra serves as the central administrative center of the federation where major government offices as located. The city has well-developed infrastructure regarding buildings which are used for conferences both local and international, transport systems as well as academic institutions like the University of Canberra


More in Society