What Continent Is Slovenia In?

Slovenia is ranked the third most forested country in Europe.
Slovenia is ranked the third most forested country in Europe.

Slovenia is one of the European countries forming Central Europe. It is located at the crossroad of the main European trade route. Slovenia acquired its independence from Yugoslavia in 1991. As of 2012, the population of Slovenia is 1.9 million people. The population density of the country is 99 people per square kilometer. The capital and the largest city of Slovenia is Ljubljana.

Geography of Slovenia

Slovenia lies between latitudes 45° and 47° N, and longitudes 13° and 17° E. The country is bordered by Croatia to the south and southeast, Hungary to the northeast, Italy to the west, Austria to the north, and the Adriatic Sea to the southwest. It also borders the Mediterranean Sea. It covers an area of approximately 20,000 square kilometers of land and 122 square kilometers of water.

Most of the Slovenian terrain is mountainous. The highest point in the country is at Triglav which is 2,864 meters above the sea level. Over half of the country is forested. Slovenia is ranked the third most forested country in Europe after Finland and Sweden. Other notable features of the country include the Alps, the Dinarides, and the Pannonian Plains.

The climate of the Slovenia can be described as a continental climate. The Slovene Littoral experiences a Mediterranean climate. The northwest mountainous region of the country experiences an alpine climate. The climate of the country is greatly influenced by the Alps and the Adriatic Sea.

Government of Slovenia

Slovenia is a parliamentary representative republic with a multi-party system. The president is elected by popular vote for a term of five years. The president is limited to a two consecutive terms. He or she is the head of the state and the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. The National Assembly elects the council of ministers and the prime minister. The prime minister becomes the head of government. The Slovenian parliament is bicameral.

Slovenia Is In Europe

Slovenia is situated on the Adriatic plate. The Adriatic Plate neighbors the Eurasian Plate, which interconnects the continent of Asia and the European continent. The Adriatic plate also borders the African plate to the south. The country is, therefore, located at the junction of three plates: the Eurasian Plate, the African plate, and the Adriatic plate. For this reason, it might not be clear on the exact location of the country. In fact, Italy, one of Slovenia’s neighbors is located on the Eurasian plate, very close to the African plate.

Slovenia is sovereign state located on the southern side of central Europe. It is located on at the crossroads of prominent European cultural and trade routes. It is geographically located on the continent of Europe, bordering other European countries. It is a member of European organizations such as the European Union, the Eurozone, and NATO. It joined the European Union on May 1, 2004, sending seven representatives to the European Parliament. Slovenia was the pioneer post-communist country to hold the post of the presidency of the council of the European Union. It joined Eurozone in 2007. It is also a close trade partner with other European countries. Slovenia actively participates in European game events and tournaments. It is also a center of European culture such as Hungarian, Romance, South Slavic, and West Slavic languages and culture.


More in World Facts