What are the States of India?

India is divided into 29 states, 6 union territories, and one National Capital Territory.

India has as many as 29 states and additional six union territories and one capital territory. Its capital city is New Delhi. India has a total population of 1,326 million people with the official languages being Hindi and English. So, really, India is a large country with vast lands and a high population.

Description Of Some States Of India

Goa State

Found in the South Indian zone, Goa is the smallest state in India. The state’s capital is known as Panjim while the largest town is Margao. In 1961 there was an Indian operation famously referred to as “Operation Vijay”. It took place in Goa leading to the defeat of the Portuguese who colonized it at the time. Subsequently, the state received its independence after 451 years of colonization by Portugal. Some of the economic activities of Goa are agriculture, fishing, and tourism. The official language used is Konkani.

Gujarat State

The capital city of Gujarat is known as Gandhinagar. It was named after Mahatma Gandhi who was an activist who led the independence movement in India. Gujarat state is located in the West Indian zone. Its provincial bird, animal, tree, and fruit are the flamingo, lion, mango tree and marigold respectively. The state languages are Gujarati and English. Inhabitants of the state mainly engage in business and agriculture to earn a living.

Delhi National Capital Territory

Delhi state is situated along the Yamuna River in India. The capital city of Delhi is New Delhi with the state having a population of about 12.5 million residents. The Lotus temple found in Delhi state is a magnificent building which attracts many tourists. The India Gate is also a historical monument in the state. Thus tourism is among the main economic activities in Delhi state.

Lakshadweep Union Territory

Lakshadweep is famous for its composition of 36 islands, eleven of which are inhabited. Its economy is driven by fishing, coconut production, tourism, and government jobs.

West Bengal State

The night-flowering jasmine is popularly known as the provincial flower of West Bengal State. The state’s inhabitants known as the Bengalis are approximately 80 million in number. West Bengal is the fourth most populated state in India. Its capital city is Kolkata and it has a tropical climate which is made of cool winters and hot summers.

Challenges And Solutions Of The States Of India

The main challenges faced by the Indian states are the high populations and policy paralysis. High populations bring about the challenge of social amenities which become overstretched. The India government needs to invest in infrastructures such as adequate health facilities, learning institutions, transport and good governance. This will help in resolving issues such as lack of education, limited access to proper health care and lack of institutions in place to implement government policies. There is also need for deliberate action aimed at slowing down the population growth to manageable levels. The government may sometimes have good strategies for economic growth. However, these may fail due to the large numbers of people involved in realizing the much needed success.

What are the States of India?

1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsUnion Territory
2Andhra PradeshState
3Arunachal PradeshState
5ChandigarhUnion Territory
7Dadra and Nagar HaveliUnion Territory
8Daman and DiuUnion Territory
9DelhiNational Capital Territory
13Himachal PradeshState
14Jammu and KashmirState
18LakshadweepUnion Territory
19Madhya PradeshState
25PondicherryUnion Territory
29Tamil NaduState
33Uttar PradeshState
34West BengalState

More in Society