UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Spain

Alhambra, Generalife, And Albayzín, Granada, Spain
Alhambra, Generalife, And Albayzín, Granada, Spain

Spain is a country of diverse beauty and tourist attractions. Its climate, geographical location, the coastline, historical sites, natural beauty, diverse culture, modern infrastructure, and excellent people make it one of the most preferred destinations in the world. Spain’s international tourism has grown in the last five decades become the world’s second largest regarding Spain has 45 UNESCO World Heritage Sites for their natural beauty and cultural significance. These heritage sites have played a significant role in promoting tourism in the country. Here are some of the Spain’s stunning UNESCO World Heritage Sites;

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Spain

Alhambra, Generalife, And Albayzín, Granada

The three sites signify the influence of Moorish influence in the southern part of Spain. Alhambra is a fortress which was constructed in 889 AD and renovated in the 13th century by the Moorish. It is a reflection of the Muslim culture of the previous centuries. The site is a place where the artists took refuge as the Reconquista. The site is characterized by the integration of both natural sites and constructed structure. The Generalife was a palace of King Nasrid Emirs of the Emirates. It was built in 1302 and consists of a water garden. The Albayzin is a district in Granada that was populated in the Iberian period but was later abandoned at the end of the Roman Empire until the founding of Zirid Kingdom. It is a center for Muslim culture in Granada and contains Moorish vernacular architecture. The three sites were included in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites list in 1984.

Antequera Dolmens Site

Antequera Dolmens Site is a cultural heritage site comprising of three cultural and two natural monuments; Dolmen of Viera, Beehive tomb of El Romeral, and Dolmen of Menga, Pena de los Enamorados, and El Torcal, the latter two being natural monuments. The site was incorporated into the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2016, and it is under the management of the Archeological Complex Dolmens of Antequera.

Aranjuez Cultural Landscape

Aranjuez Cultural Landscape is the capital of Les Vegas Comarca and it is sometimes referred to as the Royal Site of Aranjuez. The city is located at the confluence of Jarama and Tagus Rivers, 42 kilometers south of the Community of Madrid. It is made up of the Royal Estate of the Crown of Spain which was established in 1560 by Philip II and was exclusively occupied by the kings and the nobility. The Aranjuez Cultural Landscape was listed a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001.

Archaeological Ensemble Of Mérida

The Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida was founded in 25 BC by Augusto during the conquest of North of Hispania. The Colony of Augusto Emerita assumed the model of Rome and functioned as the capital of the Diocese of Hispania and a temporary Royal seat of both the Suebi and the Visigoths. Although the modern city of Merida is built on top of Emerita, the archeological remains are preserved as an evidence of the Roman City. The remains consist of 22 components including entertainment building, public architecture, provincial forum, engineering works, and religious buildings. Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida is also a learning ground because of its remarkable condition. The site was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list in 1993.

Spain’s Natural Sites

Spain’s natural sites which have been listed by the UNESCO as World Heritage Sites include Garajonay National Park (1986), Doñana National Park (1994), and Teide National Park (2007). Mont Perdu in the Pyrénées is a blend of both cultural and natural site and was listed in 1997.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Spain

UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Spain Year of Inscription; Type
Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín, Granada 1984; Cultural
Antequera Dolmens Site 2016; Cultural
Aranjuez Cultural Landscape 2001; Cultural
Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida 1993; Cultural
Archaeological Ensemble of Tárraco 2000; Cultural
Archaeological Site of Atapuerca 2000; Cultural
Architectural Works of Antoni Gaudí 1984; Cultural
Burgos Cathedral 1984; Cultural
Catalan Romanesque Churches of the Vall de Boí 2000; Cultural
Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias in Seville 1987; Cultural
Cave of Altamira and Paleolithic Cave Art of Northern Spain 1985; Cultural
Cultural Landscape of the Serra de Tramuntana 2011; Cultural
Doñana National Park 1994; Natural
Garajonay National Park 1986; Natural
Heritage of Mercury. Almadén and Idrija 2012; Cultural
Historic Center of Cordoba 1984; Cultural
Historic City of Toledo (1986; Cultural
Historic Walled Town of Cuenca 1996; Cultural
Ibiza Biodiversity and Culture 1999; Mixed
La Lonja de la Seda de Valencia 1996; Cultural
Las Médulas 1997; Cultural
Monastery and Site of the Escurial, Madrid 1984; Cultural
Mont Perdu in the Pyrénées 1997; Mixed
Monuments of Oviedo and the Kingdom of the Asturias 1985; Cultural
Mudejar Architecture of Aragon 1986; Cultural
Old City of Salamanca 1988; Cultural
Old Town of Ávila with its Extra-Muros Churches 1985; Cultural
Old Town of Cáceres 1986; Cultural
Old Town of Santiago de Compostela 1985; Cultural
Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct 1985; Cultural
Palau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona 1997; Cultural
Palmeral of Elche 2000; Cultural
Poblet Monastery 1991; Cultural
Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde 1998; Cultural
Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza 2003; Cultural
Rock Art of the Mediterranean Basin on the Iberian Peninsula 1998; Cultural
Roman Walls of Lugo 2000; Cultural
Routes of Santiago de Compostela: Camino Francés and Routes of Northern Spain 1993; Cultural
Royal Monastery of Santa María de Guadalupe 1993; Cultural
San Cristóbal de La Laguna 1999; Cultural
San Millán Yuso and Suso Monasteries 1997; Cultural
Teide National Park 2007; Natural
Tower of Hercules 2009; Cultural
University and Historic Precinct of Alcalá de Henares 1998; Cultural
Vizcaya Bridge 2006; Cultural

More in Travel