List of The Prime Ministers Of Thailand

Prayut Chan-o-cha, the current Prime Minister of Thailand. Editorial credit: PKittiwongsakul /
Prayut Chan-o-cha, the current Prime Minister of Thailand. Editorial credit: PKittiwongsakul /

Thailand is a country in Southeast Asia. Since the country's revolution of 1932, the post of the prime minister has been in existence. Before the revolution, absolute monarchs ruled the nation. The first prime minister was Manopakorn Nititada who took the leadership from 1932 to 1933.  The longest serving prime minister was Field Marshal Plaek who was in office for 14 years. The Prime Minister becomes the head of government upon his or her election by the House of Representatives. 

Phraya Manopakorn Nititada (in Office 1932-1933)

Nititada was born in 1884 in Bangkok and died in 1948 in British Malaya. He started his education at Suankularb Wittayalai School and later studied law education at Assumption College. After his studies, he worked under the Ministry of Justice. Over the years he earned the title Phraya. The People's Party leader appointed him to be the prime minister of Siam, as the country was known by then. People remember him for spearheading the promulgation of the country's first constitution. In 1933, he approved the Anti-Communist Act which ensured the arrest of individuals spreading communist sentiments. 

Phraya Phahon Phonphayuhasena (in Office 1933-1938)

Phonphayuhasena was born in 1887 in Bangkok to a Thai mother and a Chinese father. He attended a royal military academy before going to Berlin to study on a scholarship. His engineering studies at Copenhagen abruptly ended due to lack of funds, and he returned to his country in 1912. In 1931, he arose to become a phraya and received the position of colonel. He became the second prime minister and the first military leader after a coup in 1933. His reign faced rebellion from the people and he retired from public life after facing difficulties in his rule.

Sarit Thanarat (in Office 1959-1963)

Thanarat was born in 1908 in Bangkok, where he also died in 1963. He was a Buddhist and had three wives. He considered himself an Isan because he grew up in his mother's hometown. He staged a coup in 1957 due to public outcry following Pibusongkhram's election rigging. As a leader, he improved the country's economy under United States designation. On the other hand, his regime was one of the most authoritarian of Thailand's prime ministers. For example, he declared a single-party state. However, he revived the public role of the king, making him attend many ceremonies and patronize different projects. He died of liver failure in 1963, bringing an end to his rule. His reputation declined after his death when the people learned of his corruption and adulterous ways. However, he had many royal decorations to his name.

Prayut Chan-o-cha (In Office 2014-Present)

The current Prime Minister of Thailand is a former Commander in Chief of Thailand's Army. He is Prayut Chan-o-cha and is 62 years old, and was born in Nakhon Ratchasima. He received his military education in armed forces academies before graduating with a Bachelor's of Science Degree from the Royal Military Academy. He is concurrently serving as the head of National Council for Peace and Order. 

The Prime Ministers Of Thailand

Prime Ministers of Thailand Term(s) in Office
Phraya Manopakorn Nititada 1932-1933
Phraya Phahon Phonphayuhasena 1933-1938
Plaek Phibunsongkhram 1938-1944; 1948-1957
Khuang Aphaiwong 1944-1945; 1946; 1947-1948
Tawee Boonyaket 1945
Seni Pramoj 1945-1946; 1975; 1976
Pridi Banomyong 1946
Thawan Thamrongnawasawat 1946-1947
Pote Sarasin 1957-1958
Thanom Kittikachorn 1958; 1963-1973
Sarit Thanarat 1959-1963
Sanya Dharmasakti 1973-1975
Kukrit Pramoj 1975-1976
Thanin Kraivichien 1976-1977
Kriangsak Chomanan 1977-1980
Prem Tinsulanonda 1980-1988
Chatichai Choonhavan 1988-1991
Anand Panyarachun 1991-1992; 1992
Suchinda Kraprayoon 1992
Chuan Leekpai 1992-1995; 1997-2001
Banharn Silpa-archa 1995-1996
Chavalit Yongchaiyudh 1996-1997
Thaksin Shinawatra 2001-2006
Surayud Chulanont 2006-2008
Samak Sundaravej 2008
Somchai Wongsawat 2008
Abhisit Vejjajiva 2008-2011
Yingluck Shinawatra 2011-2014
Prayut Chan-o-cha (Incumbent) 2014-Present

More in Politics