The "Group Of Eight" Universities Of Australia

A student walking at the University of Sydney.
A student walking at the University of Sydney.

Australia has 43 universities of which 40 are public universities, and two are international universities, while one is a private university. The Higher Education Support Act of 2003 has grouped the higher education system of Australia into universities, self-accrediting higher education institutions, and state accredited colleges. The universities of Australia are grouped into different categories depending on their characteristics, the level of research, and their association with other universities. One of the categories of universities in Australia is the “Group of Eight” or Go8. The Go8 are research intensive universities and some of the largest and oldest in Australia. Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) has its main campus in Action encompassing seven teaching and research colleges. ANU was founded in 1946 being the only university in the country to have been established by the Parliament. It was originally a postgraduate university but commenced undergraduate programs in 1960 when it integrated with Canberra University College. Currently, the university enrolls over 10,000 undergraduate students and 10,800 postgraduate students and has a staff of over 3,000. AUN is one of the top universities globally ranked 22nd by the 2016/2017 QS World University Rankings. 15-member council governs the university with ANUSA and PARSA representing the students.

University Of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne is an institution in Melbourne. It is one of the oldest universities in the country which was established in 1853. The institution is ranked 33rd by the Times Higher Education while the Academic Ranking of World Universities places it at position 40. The University of Melbourne’s main campus is located in Parkville and has other campuses across Victoria. Various residential colleges have also been affiliated with the university since 1872. The University comprises of 11 separate academic units associated with institutes and research centers. Several high profile Australians including four prime ministers and several governor-generals have graduated from the university

University Of Sydney

The University of Sydney is a research institution in Sydney that was established in 1850. It is the country’s first university and regarded as one of the best universities in the country. The University of Sydney comprises of 16 faculties and schools that offer bachelors, masters, and doctoral degree. The university campus is ranked among the top ten most beautiful universities in the world by the British Daily Telegraph. The University of Sydney was ranked 46th in the world in 2016/2017 QS World University Rankings.

University Of New South Wales

The University of New South Wales (UNSW Australia) is among the leading institutions of higher learming in Australia located in the suburbs of Kensington. The university was established in 1949, and it is the founding Member University of the Go8. UNSW Australia was ranked 49th globally in 2016/1017 by the QS World University Rankings and was also the most preferred university by high school students in the New South Wales. The university has eight faculties offering bachelors, masters, and doctoral programs.

University Of Queensland

The University of Queensland (UQ) is a flagship research institution found in Brisbane. It is the country’s oldest and the most selective university that ranks among best performing universities in the world and the leading university in business and life sciences in Australia. UQ was founded in 1909 with the main campus in St Lucia while other campuses are located throughout Queensland. UQ also has establishments in the US.

Monash University

The Monash University is in Melbourne and was established in 1958 making it among the oldest institutions in Australia. It enrolls over 48,000 undergraduate students and 20,000 postgraduate students and has more applications than any universities in the country. The university is home to major research facilities including Australian Stem Cell Center and other research centers. The university has five campuses in Victoria and one in Malaysia.

University Of Western Australia

The University of Western Australia is a main research institution in Perth and was founded in 1911 through the Western Australian Parliament Act. The institution is highly ranked internationally by several publications. The Crawley Campus sits on a large piece of land and has one of the Iconic buildings (Winthrop Hall) which is the main attraction in Perth. The university offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

University Of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide was established in 1874 as the third university in Australia. The institution is associated with five Nobel laureates and several Rhode scholars. The university has five campuses with the main campus is at Adelaide city center and also operates several independent research institutions. The University of Adelaide engages in extensive contract research and several collaborative works with local and international companies.

The "Group Of Eight" Universities Of Australia

1Australian National UniversityCanberra1946
2University of MelbourneMelbourne1853
3University of SydneySydney1850
4University of New South WalesSydney1949
5University of QueenslandBrisbane1909
6Monash UniversityMelbourne1958
7University of Western AustraliaPerth1911
8University of AdelaideAdelaide1874

More in Society