The Boroughs of New York City – NYC Boroughs Map

A map showing Manhattan and some of the surrounding boroughs.
A map showing Manhattan and some of the surrounding boroughs.

New York City is among the largest cities in the world. For administrative purposes, the city has been split into five boroughs. Each borough falls into a state county that shares that borough's same size and boundaries. The boroughs have existed since the city was consolidated in 1898. The respective boundaries were formed in 1898, although in 1914 the Bronx, which was previously part of Winchester County, was annexed to New York County. As of 2016, the population of New York City was estimated at 8,537,673. The five boroughs of New York City are listed below.

5. Manhattan

Manhattan is the smallest of the five boroughs with an area of 22.8 square miles, but with a population of approximately 1,600,000, it is the most densely populated borough. Manhattan Island is considered the economic hub of the United States because of its financial districts, the New York Stock Exchange, and Wall Street. The borough is divided into Uptown, Midtown, and Downtown. It is also home to Times Square which is located in Midtown. Manhattan is further divided into 12 districts.

4. Brooklyn

The population of Brooklyn was estimated to be about 2.63 million in 2016. It is the most populous of the five boroughs and covers an area of 71 square miles. At one point, Brooklyn was an independent city, but the construction of the Brooklyn Bridge that linked it with Manhattan prompted the city to become part of New York City in 1898. The borough, also known as Kings County, was first settled by the Dutch who named several of the neighborhoods such as Flatlands, New Utrecht, and Bushwick. The borough is divided into 18 community districts.

3. Queens

Queens is the largest borough with an area of 109.7 square miles. It makes up 35% of New York City and is also the second most populous, with a population of 2.4 million as of 2016. It was settled by the Dutch in the mid-17th century and became part of the city in 1898. It was named Queens in 1883 after Portuguese Princess Catherine of Braganza, who was the then Queen of England. The borough is known for its diverse neighborhoods that include dense urban apartments as well as less dense suburban family homes. It is home to John F Kennedy (JFK) and LaGuardia airports.

2. The Bronx

The Bronx is the only borough that is not an island. It borders Manhattan to the south and is the northernmost borough. It covers an area of 42.4 square miles and is densely populated, with an estimated population of 1.46 million as of 2016. Much of the borough is open space, unlike the other boroughs, and it is home to the Bronx Zoo and the New York Botanical Garden. The county is named after the Bronx River, which is subsequently named after a Dutch immigrant Jonas Bronck who settled in the area in the 17th century.

1. Staten Island

Staten Island is the southernmost borough and is the least populated, with a population of about 480,000. The Verrazano-Narrows Bridge connects the island to the rest of the city and a ferry service is also available. People located on the island have an excellent view of Lower Manhattan, the Statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island. The borough is suburban and the locals feel politically neglected compared to the other boroughs.


More in Society