Prime Ministers Of The Republic Of The Congo (Congo-Brazzaville)

The Republic of the Congo, also known as Congo-Brazzaville or simply as Congo, has had a multiparty political system since the early 1990s, with the current president, Denis Sassou Nguesso, dominating the presidency for many years. The president has the powers to appoint and dismiss the prime minister, among other important functions. The prime minister is the head of government and directs all its affairs. He can also preside over the Council of Ministers in the absence of the president. The prime minister may also represent the president in both domestic and foreign events and functions. Some of those serving as Prime Ministers of the Republic of Congo are looked at below.

Alphonse Massamba-Debat

Alphonse Massamba-Debat, born in 1925, led Congo from 1963 to 1968 both as the prime minister and the president. Before joining politics, he served as a headmaster of a school in Brazzaville. In 1957, he was appointed Minister of Education by President Youlou He was elected to the national assembly in 1959 and later served as Minister of State and Planning. On August 16, 1963, a day after the presidency was suspended, Massamba-Debat was declared the prime minister, a position he held until December 19, 1963, when he was elected the president of Congo.

Pascal Lissouba

Pascal Lissouba was born in 1931 in Tsinguidi, Congo, although he received his education abroad in France and Tunisia. Before joining politics, he was a civil servant working in the Department of Agriculture. Because of his exemplary performance in the Department of Agriculture, he was appointed Minister for Agriculture and also prime minister in 1963 by President Massamba-Debat. He served as the prime minister of Congo until 1966. He was suspended from political activities in 1969 and in 1977 he was implicated in the assassination of President Ngouabi. Upon his release from prison in 1979, he went into exile in France. He returned from exile in 1992 and he was elected as the president of Congo the same year. However, he was overthrown by the current president, Denis Sassou Nguesso, in 1997.

Ambroise Noumazalaye

Ambroise Noumazalaye was appointed as the prime minister of Congo in 1966 by President Massamba-Debat following the resignation of Pascal Lissouba. During his tenure as the prime minister, Noumazalaye also served as the Minister for Planning. His term came o an abrupt end on January 12, 1968, when the president disbanded the premier’s position. However, he continued serving as the minister for planning in Massamba-Debat’s government. Noumazalaye was also appointed Minister of Industry and Craft by President Nguesso. He died in November 2007 in Paris.

Henri Lopes

Henri Lopes was a man of many faces according to a number of his Congolese compatriots. He was an accomplished writer, a politician, and a diplomat. He was appointed the Prime Minister of Congo-Brazzaville in 1973. Before becoming the premier, he served in various ministerial positions including National Education and Foreign Affairs between 1969 and 1973. Henri Lopes and his government resigned in 1975 after the resolution of his party’s central committee meeting.

Clement Mouamba

The current Prime Minister or the Republic of Congo, Clement Mouamba, was appointed on April 23, 2016 by President Nguesso after the March 2016 elections. The prime minister’s position had been abolished in 2009. Clement Mouamba served under President Lissouba as Minister of Finance and was also a leading member of the UPADS Party.

Prime Ministers of the Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville)Term(s) in Office
Alphonse Massamba-Debat
Pascal Lissouba
Ambroise Noumazalaye
Alfred Raoul
Position Abolished and Vacant Due to Governmental changes1969-1973; 1997-2005; 2009-2016
Henri Lopes1973-1975
Louis Sylvain Goma
1975-1984; 1991
Ange Edouard Poungui
Alphonse Poaty-Souchlaty
Andre Milongo
Stephane Maurice Bongho-Nouarra
Claude Antoine Dacosta
Joachim Yhombi-Opango
Charles David Ganao
Bernard Kolelas
Isidore Mvouba
Clement Mouamba (Incumbent)

More in Politics