What Is The Capital Of The Republic Of The Congo?

Brazzaville, the capital of the Republic of the Congo. Editorial credit: StreetVJ / Shutterstock.com.

The Republic of the Congo is a nation in Central Africa. The country covers an area of 342,000 square km and has a population of approximately 5,125,821. It is bordered by Cameroon, Gabon, the Central African Republic (CAR), and Cabinda, which is part of Angola, to the northwest, west, northeast, and southwest, respectively. The country shares its eastern and southern borders with the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). It also has coastline on the Atlantic Ocean to the west. 

What Type of Government Does the Country Have?

The Republic of the Congo is governed as a unitary semi-presidential republic. The country's executive powers are held by the President and the Prime Minister, who serve as the head of state and the head of government, respectively. The legislative branch consists of the Parliament, which is made up of  two chambers, the National Assembly and the Senate. The country has one dominant party, and while other parties can exist they have little chance of coming to power.

What Is the Capital of the Republic of the Congo?

Brazzaville is the country’s capital city. It covers an area of 263.9 square km and has a population of 1,373,382. Brazzaville is the Republic of the Congo's most populous city and has a population density of 5,200 persons per square km.

Where Is Brazzaville Located?

Brazzaville is located 506 km from the Atlantic Ocean on the northern side of the Congo River, close to the Pool Malebo which is a lake-like part of the Congo River. The city is relatively flat, has an elevation of 1,040 feet, and is surrounded by large plains. Kinshasa, the capital city of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, is located directly opposite Brazzaville on the southern banks of the Congo River. The city experiences a tropical wet and dry climate.

History of Brazzaville

Brazzaville was founded as a French colony in the late 19th century by Italian-born explorer Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza. Founded on the site of an indigenous Bateke settlement, the new colony was named after Brazza. The king of the Bateke people signed a treaty with the French Empire, offering protection in exchange for control of the region. In 1904, Brazzaville became the capital of the French Congo, and later the capital of French Equatorial Africa. The city grew in the early 20th century, and numerous municipal buildings, courts, and offices were built during this period. Additionally, the construction of a railway connecting the city to the port of Pointe-Noire further boosted its importance. In the years that followed, Brazzaville served as the site of various protests, rebellions, and civil wars. When the Republic of the Congo gained independence from colonial rule in 1960, Brazzaville became the capital of the newly independent state.

Role of Brazzaville As the Capital City

As the seat of the national government, Brazzaville is home to important government offices, departments, and ministries. The Republic of the Congo's Parliament also meets in the city. Brazzaville is an important industrial, commercial, and financial center. Additionally, many companies and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) have regional offices in the city, such as the World Health Organization's (WHO) Regional Office for Africa.


More in World Facts