Presidents Of Lebanon Since Independence From France

Since the end of the French Mandate in 1945, these Presidents have helped lead the Lebanese Republic.

Since the end of the French Mandate in 1945, these Presidents have helped lead the Lebanese Republic. Lebanon’s President is mandated to appoint or expel the Prime Ministers as well as the Ministers. The President is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces and has powers to dissolve Parliament. The President promulgates laws, accredits ambassadors, and ratifies international treaties. The Presidential position in Lebanon was provided for in the 1926 Constitution when Lebanon was under French Rule. The position was upheld in an independent Lebanon although it is largely a ceremonial office.

Presidents Of Lebanon Since Independence From France

Bechara Khoury

Bechara Khoury served as Lebanon’s President from Wednesday, October 24, 1945, to Thursday, September 18, 1952. Born a Maronite Christian in Rechmaya, Lebanon on August 10, 1890, Khoury studied Law in Paris. He worked as a lawyer before leaving for Egypt in 1915 at the start of the First World War. After his return to Lebanon in 1919, he was at the forefront of the establishment of the Advancement Party, and he was elected to the legislature in 1929, 1934, and 1937. He subsequently served in several ministerial posts, the Prime Minister Position as well as in the Senate. He founded the Constitutional Bloc in 1932. Khoury was opposed to the French mandate, and he was arrested together with fellow nationalists for eleven days in 1943. He was elected President in 1945. He is credited with the role he played in the drafting of the National Pact. The pact provided the framework for governance and power-sharing between the Christians and Muslims. His economic reforms were hampered by the 1948 Arab-Israeli War and corruption, and he was forced to resign in 1952, amid nationwide criticism. He died in Beirut on January 1, 1964.

Camille Chamoun

Camille Chamoun was the country’s President from Tuesday, September 23, 1952, to Monday, September 22, 1958. He was born on April 3, 1900, in Deir el Qamar when Lebanon was part of the Ottoman Empire. He became a lawyer after completing studies in St. Joseph University. A Maronite Christian himself, Chamoun was active in the Christian Constitutional Bloc group. After his Presidential ambitions had been thwarted by a victory for Bechara Khoury in the 1948 elections, Chamoun organized a Parliamentary opposition. Chamoun was elected to succeed Khoury in 1952. He spearheaded reforms in the administrative sector in an attempt to ensure more efficiency governance of Lebanon. Chamoun also promoted freedom and democracy. Political stability in the country was threatened when Muslim leaders pressured him to break relations with France and Britain after the powers launched attacks on Egypt in regards to the Suez Canal. An attempt to overthrow his government proved unsuccessful in 1958, and he did not seek to be elected for a second term. He founded the National Liberal Party after leaving office and served in the legislature. He then held a series of Ministerial posts and was involved in the civil war in 1975. Chamoun died on August 7, 1987, in Beirut, Lebanon.

Fuad Chehab

Feud Chehab served as Lebanon’s President from Thursday, September 18, 1952, to Monday, September 22, 1952, and again from Tuesday, September 23, 1958, to Tuesday, September 22, 1964. He was born on March 19, 1902, in Keserwan District and underwent military training in France and Syria. By 1945, he held office as the commander of the Lebanese Army, and he denied military support to President Bechara Khoury prompting him to step down in the face of opposition. He served in several ministerial posts and as Prime Minister in 1952. Chehab succeeded Chamoun as President in 1958, and he embarked on measures to restore national unity. Under his leadership, Lebanon experienced economic growth fueled by foreign investments. His government promoted policies aimed at reforming the education, health, social services and welfare, and administrative sectors. He oversaw Lebanon’s urbanization and commissioned modern infrastructure. Chehab was widely acclaimed for his integrity, impartiality, and competence. He served for one term, and he died on April 25, 1973, in Jounieh, Lebanon.

Charles Helou

Charles Helou served as Lebanon’s President from Wednesday, September 23, 1964, to Tuesday, September 22, 1970. He was born on September 25, 1913, in Beirut and acquired a Law Degree at St Joseph University in 1934. He engaged in business and was part of the team which formed the Lebanese Phalanges Party although he withdrew afterward. He represented Lebanon in Vatican as an ambassador in 1947 and subsequently served as the Minister for justice and health and education. His tenure as President was marked by increasing tensions between Pro-Western and Pro-Arab groups. Palestinian guerrillas threatened stability in the southern region of the country and clashes between them, and the Lebanese army became common. Helou boosted the country’s economy with progressive policies. He served only for one term and died on January 7, 2001.

Other Presidents Of Lebanon

The rest of Lebanon’s Presidents are: Suleiman Frangieh (1970-1976); Elias Sarkis (1976-1982); Bachir Gemayel (1982); Amine Gemayel (1982-1988); Selim Hoss (1988-1989); Michel Aoun (1988-1990); René Moawad (1989); Selim Hoss (1989); Elias Hrawi (1989-1998); Émile Lahoud (1998-2007); Fouad Siniora (2007-2008); Michel Suleiman (2008-2014); Tammam Salam (2014-2016), and Michel Aoun (2016 to present).

Presidents of the Lebanese Republic Start of Term End of Term
Bechara Khoury Wednesday, October 24, 1945 Thursday, September 18, 1952
Fuad Chehab Thursday, September 18, 1952 Monday, September 22, 1952
Camille Chamoun Tuesday, September 23, 1952 Monday, September 22, 1958
Fuad Chehab Tuesday, September 23, 1958 Tuesday, September 22, 1964
Charles Helou Wednesday, September 23, 1964 Tuesday, September 22, 1970
Suleiman Frangieh Wednesday, September 23, 1970 Wednesday, September 22, 1976
Elias Sarkis Thursday, September 23, 1976 Wednesday, September 22, 1982
Bachir Gemayel Monday, August 23, 1982 Tuesday, September 14, 1982
Amine Gemayel Thursday, September 23, 1982 Thursday, September 22, 1988
Selim Hoss Thursday, September 22, 1988 Sunday, November 5, 1989
Michel Aoun Thursday, September 22, 1988 Saturday, October 13, 1990
René Moawad Sunday, November 5, 1989 Wednesday, November 22, 1989
Selim Hoss Wednesday, November 22, 1989 Friday, November 24, 1989
Elias Hrawi Friday, November 24, 1989 Tuesday, November 24, 1998
Émile Lahoud Tuesday, November 24, 1998 Saturday, November 24, 2007
Fouad Siniora Saturday, November 24, 2007 Sunday, May 25, 2008
Michel Suleiman Sunday, May 25, 2008 Sunday, May 25, 2014
Tammam Salam Sunday, May 25, 2014 Monday, October 31, 2016
Michel Aoun (Incumbent) Monday, October 31, 2016 Currently the Sitting President

More in Politics