Presidents Of Angola Since 1975

João Lourenço, the president of Angola. Editorial credit: Alexandros Michailidis /

The Republic of Angola is a country located in Southern Africa that borders the Democratic Republic of Congo, Namibia, Zambia, and the Atlantic Ocean. Angola is the seventh largest country in Africa whose capital city is Luanda. The president of Angola is both the head of state and head of government after their constitution abolished the post of the prime minister. The president of Angola has all the executive authority as well as an extent of legislative powers meaning the president of Angola can govern the country by decree. Angola's presidential position dates back to when Angola got its independence in 1975. 

Presidents Of Angola Since 1975

Agostinho Neto 1975-1979

Antonio Agostinho Neto was Angola's first president, and he came to power after his then Marxist Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola won over control of the country from Portugal. He was the president of Angola from 1975 until his death in 1979 after he fought for colonial liberation and independence from 1961 to 1974.

José Eduardo dos Santos From 1979

Jose Eduardo dos Santos was born on August 28, 1942, and was the president of Angola from 1979 to 2017. 

João Lourenço 

João Louenço is the incumbent president of Angola. He was born in 1954 in the town of Lobito in Angola. His ruling political party is the People's Movement for the Liberation of Angola.

Political Instability in Angola

Angola has a tumultuous political history. While the country was a Portuguese colony, many of the country's inhabitants once were sold to Brazil as enslaved people. Following this, it plunged into a 14-year guerrilla war. There was also a civil war of main ethnic groups lasting 16 years and finally a peace agreement was reached. The 1991 elections were disputed and renewed conflict was rekindled 18 months later. The civil war in Angola lasted 27 years and peace was reached in 2002. The country has been ravaged with war with numerous landmines plated across the country. Although Angola is an oil rich country, it is one of the poorest countries in the world with a life expectancy of 40 years, the lowest in Africa.

Presidents Of Angola Since 1975

PresidentTerm in Office
Agostinho Neto1975-1979
José Eduardo dos Santos1979-2017
João Lourenço 2017-

More in Politics