World Facts

Countries That Start With The Letter X

There are 0 countries that start with the letter X.


There are no countries that start with X. However, there are some territories and cities around the world that do. 

Countries That Start With The Letter X


Countries whose names begin with X in the Catalan language include Xina (China), Xile (Chile), and Xipre (Cyprus). Catalan is spoken in Andorra, Spain, France, and Italy. The language is named after Catalonia in Spain. Catalan originated from Vulgar Latin, and it shares characteristics with other Romance languages. Catalan is the national language of Andorra.


Countries that begin with the letter X in the Galician language include Xamaica (Jamaica), Xapon (Japan), Xeorxia (Georgia), Xibuti (Djibouti), and Xordania (Jordan). Galician is mainly spoken in Galicia which is located in Northwestern Spain. The language is also spoken in Castile, Leon, and Asturias. Galician is in the same language family with Portuguese, and the two languages evolved from Vulgar Latin. Galician is mainly derived from Latin, but it has some German and Celtic words.

Former Countries

There are a few previous countries that do not exist at present that had names beginning with X. The countries include Xu, which was a Chinese Bronze Age state ruled by the Ying family, and Xianbei State which was an empire that included parts of present-day Mongolia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and North Korea. 

Alphabet and Countries

W and X are the only letters of the English alphabet that do not have any countries beginning with them. The letters O, Q, and Y begin the names of one country each, namely Oman, Qatar, and Yemen respectively. 


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.


More in World Facts