1. World Map /
  2. South America/
  3. Ecuador/
  4. Ecuador Geography

Ecuador Geography

Ecuador's Information

Flag of Ecuador
Land Area 276,841 km2
Water Area 6,720 km2
Total Area 283,561km2 (#73)
Population 16,080,778 (#67)
Population Density 58.09/km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $182.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $11,000
Currency Dollar (USD)
Largest Cities

Ecuador is divided into four regions: the coastal lowlands and mountains areas; the central Andes Mountains and its two major chains (Cordillera Occidental in the west) and the (Cordillera Oriental in the east); the lower mountains that fade into rolling hills and lowlands of the east, and the territory of the Galapagos Islands - officially called the Archipiélago de Colón - located about 1,000 km to the west.

The Andes includes over 20 peaks at least 13,779 ft. (4,200 m) in height with most located in the Cordillera Occidental. In addition, there are over 30 peaks that are volcanic in nature, including many active ones.

Most rivers in Ecuador rise in the upper elevations of the Andes, flowing east toward the Amazon River, or west into the Pacific Ocean. The most significant include the Babahoyo, Chira, Coca, Curaray, Daule, Esmeraldas, Guayas, Napo, Paztaza, and the Putumayo, on its northeastern border with Colombia.

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries Of South America