1. World Map/
  2. North America/
  3. Caribbean/
  4. Dominica/
  5. Dominica Timeline

Dominica History Timeline

Dominica's Information

Flag of Dominica
Land Area 751 km2
Total Area 751km2 (#173)
Population 73,757 (#200)
Population Density 98.21/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $812.00 Million
GDP Per Capita $11,400
Currency Dollar (XCD)
  • (3000BC) Igneri from Orinoco populated island
  • (1493) Columbus visited island, named it Dominica (Sunday Island)
  • (1627) England's King Charles I put Earl of Carlisle in charge of Dominica; indigenous Carib Indians fiercely resisted
  • (1635) France claimed Dominica; resistance from Carib Indians continued
  • (1660) Britain, France agreed to abandon Dominica
  • (1763) Dominica ceded to Britain by Treaty of Paris, ended Seven Years' War
  • (1768) Britain established separate legislative assembly in Dominica, represented only white population
  • (1778) French reposessed Dominica; legislative assembly continued to function
  • (1783) French returned Dominica to Britain by Treaty of Versailles
  • (1831) Full political, social rights granted to free non-whites
  • (1832) Coffee constituted 32% of value of Dominica's exports
  • (1833) Dominica grouped in Leeward Islands administrative union under one governor
  • (1834) Slavery abolished
  • (1838) Dominica first, (and only) British colony in Caribbean to have black-controlled legislature
  • (1865) Crown colony government instituted by Dominica legislature
  • (1896) Britain re-established crown colony government over Dominica
  • (1898) Crown colony rule introduced in Dominica; Sir Hesketh Bell first administrator
  • (1922) Wood Commission visited, caused election of four members to unofficial side of legislature
  • (1932) Closer Union Commission weakened Crown Colony rule
  • (1945) First Trade Union formed in Dominica
  • (1951) Britain declared universal adult suffrage in Dominica
  • (1955) Ministerial system introduced; legislative council remained unchanged; first representative party formed Labor Party of Dominica
  • (1956) British Caribbean Federation Act passed
  • (1957) Dominica had first chief minister; second representative party formed Dominica United Peoples Party
  • (1958-62) Dominica member of British-sponsored West Indies Federation
  • (1960) Britain granted Dominica self-government, with legislative council, chief minister
  • (1961) Head of Dominica Labor Party (DLP), Edward LeBlanc, became chief minister
  • (1960) Britain granted Dominica self-government, with legislative council, chief minister
  • (1974) LeBlanc retired; Patrick John (DLP) new chief minister
  • (1978) Full independence attained under republican constitution with Patrick John as prime minister
  • (1979) Hurricane David devastated island
  • (1980) Eugenia Charles, replaced Patrick John - first female prime minister in Caribbean
  • (1981) Two coup attempts, allegedly backed by Patrick John, failed; Patrick John tried, acquitted; Dominican Defense Force disbanded
  • (1983) Token Dominican force participated in US invasion of Grenada
  • (1985) Patrick John retried, found guilty, sentenced to 12 years imprisonment
  • (1993) Eugenia Charles resigned as DFP leader, continued as prime minister
  • (1995) Edison James became prime minister after United Workers Party's victory in general elections; Eugenia Charles retired
  • (1999) Hurricane Lenny caused widespread damage
  • (2000) Rosie Douglas became prime minister after Dominica Labor Party ousted United Workers Party in closely contested election; Douglas died; Douglas succeeded by Pierre Charles
  • (2002) Prime Minister Pierre Charles told Caribbean Development Bank Dominica faced economic, financial crisis
  • (2003) Nicholas Liverpool became president; Dominica celebrated 25th anniversary of Independence
  • (2004) Pierre Charles died in office; Education Minister Roosevelt Skerrit succeeded as prime minister; Dominica cut ties with Taiwan in favor of ties with mainland China; China agreed to give $100 million worth of aid over a five-year period; earthquake damaged buildings in northern part of island
  • (2005) Governing Labor Party, Roosevelt Skerrit won general elections
  • (2007) Hurricane Dean wiped out 99% of Dominica's banana crop; new national sports stadium officially opened
  • (2008) Chief Charles Williams, leader of ancient Native American Kalinago (Carib) tribe, asked legislators to pass law requiring ethnic Kalinagos to marry only each other for self-preservation
  • (2009) Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit's government secured $49 Million in grants from Venezuela, all part of ALBA trade group of left wing Latin American governments; Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit, governing Dominican Labor Party re-elected with increased majority in parliament
  • (2010) Dominica celebrated 32nd anniversary of Independence
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries & Territories Of The Caribbean