1. Home
  2. Countries
  3. El Salvador

Salvadorean Symbols

Physical Map of El Salvador showing relief, major rivers and mountain ranges, important settlements, bordering countries, etc.
Where is El Salvador?

Flag of El Salvador

El Salvador's Quick Facts

Land Area 20,721 km2
Water Area 320 km2
Total Area 21,041 km2
Population 6,156,670
Population Density 292.60 / km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $54.79 Billion
GDP Per Capita $8,900
Currency Dollar (USD)
Largest Cities
  • San Salvador (1,105,766)
  • Bird: Turquoise-browed Motmot (Torogoz)
  • Coat of Arms:

    costa rica coat of arms

  • Coat of Arms: The coat of arms has been in use in its current form since 15 September 1912. Its center consists of a triangle, in which five volcanoes rise out of the sea. They symbolize the five member states of the United Provinces of Central America. Above the volcanoes is a red Phrygian cap on a staff before a golden sun and the date 15 September 1821 - Independence Day of El Salvador. A rainbow is above.

    Behind the coat of arms there are five raised flags representing the flags of the Federal Republic of Central America. Under the flags, there is a scroll with the national motto. All of this is surrounded by a laurel garland, which is tied together under the national flag. The garland is divided into 14 different parts, which symbolize the 14 Departments, the Salvadoran subnational administrative units.
  • Flag of El Salvador
  • Flower: Flor de Izote
  • Motto: "Dios, UniĆ³n, Libertad" "God, Union, Liberty"
  • Tree: Maquilishuat

Latest by WorldAtlas