1. World Map/
  2. Europe /
  3. Spain /
  4. Balearic Islands Geography

Balearic Islands

Balearic Islands Geography

Balearic landforms

An archipelago in the western Mediterranean Sea, the Balearic Islands are located just off the coast of Spain, and contain four major islands: Majorca, Minorca, Ibiza, and Formentera, as well as the minor outlying islands and islets.

Largest of the four islands, Majorca's interior is a flat, fertile plain (known as Es Pla) that extends outward to a rugged, mountainous coast. Majorca is the second most populated island of Spain.

Minorca, Ibiza and Formentera all present an uneven and rugged coast with low-lying plains punctuated by pine forests.

The highest point of the Balearic's is Puig Major, which peaks at 4,741 feet (1,445 m), on the island of Majorca; the lowest point is the Mesiterranean Sea (0m).