1. World Map /
  2. Africa/
  3. Madagascar/
  4. Madagascar Timeline

Madagascar History Timeline

Madagascar's Information

Flag of Madagascar
Land Area 581,540 km2
Water Area 5,501 km2
Total Area 587,041km2 (#46)
Population 24,430,325 (#52)
Population Density 42.01/km2
Government Type Semi-presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $37.48 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,500
Currency Ariary (MGA)
Largest Cities
400s AD - 1800s
  • (420 AD) Andavakoera is settled by migrants from southern Borneo
  • (1000) Bantu-speaking migrants from southeastern Africa arrived and introduced the zebu (a long-horned humped cattle)
  • (1600) Irrigated paddy fields were developed in the central highland region by the Betsileo Kingdom and extended into the neighboring Kingdom of Imerina
  • (1774) Madagascar gained prominence amongst pirates and European traders
  • (1793) The Kingdom of Imerina was reunited following a century of war and famine
  • (1817) A treaty was issued to abolish the slave trade in return for British military and financial assistance
  • (1818) Artisan missionaries from London arrived
  • (1883) France invaded Madagascar during the first Franco-Hova War
  • (1890) Britain accepted the formal imposition of a French protectorate over Madagascar despite the fact that it wasn't recognized by the government of Madagascar
  • (1896) Slavery was abolished
  • (1910) Discontent over French ruling sparked a growth of nationalism
  • (1946) Madagascar became an Overseas Territory of France
  • (1947) The Malagasy Uprising against French colonial rule occurred, thousands were killed
  • (1960) Madagascar gained independence with Philibert Tsiranana as president
  • (1972) The Tsiranana administration was overturned by protesters against the continuation of his strong economic and political ties to France; power was handed over to army chief Gen. Gabriel Ramanantsoa who reduced ties with France in favor of links with the Soviet Union
  • (1975) Lieutenant-Commander Didier Ratsiraka was elected president following a coup; Madagascar was renamed the Democratic Republic of Madagascar
  • (1992) Democratic reforms were introduced and a new constitution was approved
  • (1993) Albert Zafy was elected president
  • (1996) Zafy was impeached following an economic decline, allegations of corruption, and an introduction of legislation to give himself greater power; Ratsiraka was voted back into power
  • (2001) The senate reopened after 29 years, completing the government framework provided in the 1992 constitution that replaced the socialist revolutionary system; Marc Ravalomanana was elected president
  • (2002) Violence erupted after weeks of a political deadlock over the previous year's election; Ravalomanana's party won majority in parliamentary elections
  • (2003) Former president Didier Ratsiraka was sentenced to 10 years hard labor, accused of embezzling public funds
  • (2004) Thousands were left homeless after two tropical cyclones hit the island
  • (2005) Madagascar became the first to receive development aid from the U.S. under a scheme to reward nations considered by Washington to be promoting democracy and market reforms
  • (2006) Marc Ravalomanana was re-elected
  • (2007) Ravalomanana dissolved the parliament after the new constitution called for an end to autonomy of provinces
  • (2007) A 3.3 billion dollar nickel cobalt mining project was opened in Tamatave
  • (2008) Cyclone Ivan caused widespread damage, 93 killed in the aftermath
  • (2008) Madagascar produced its first barrels of crude oil in 60 years
  • (2009) Dozens were killed following violent protests in Antananarivo after oppositional supported tv and radio stations were closed; Andry Rajoelina assumed power with military and high court backing subsequently isolating Madagascar and provoking international condemnation; the deposed Ravalomanana was sentenced to four years in prison for abuse of office
  • (2010) EU suspended developmental aid to Madagascar in the absence of democratic progress; Marc Ravalomanana was sentenced to life in prison for ordering the killings of oppositional supporters
  • (2011) A new government was unveiled; former president Didier Ratsiraka returned after nine years in exile
  • (2014) Hery Rajaonarimampianina elected president
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Madagascar Trivia

What Kind of Animals Live in Madagascar?

Many of the species of animals found in Madagascar cannot be found anywhere else in the world. Examples of these include lemurs, fossas, aye-ayes, tomato frogs, and the Madagascar long-eared owl.

Animals That Live in Madagascar

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa