1. World Map/
  2. Oceania & Australia/
  3. New Zealand/
  4. Auckland Unitary authority

Unitary authority of Auckland, New Zealand

Location of unitary authority of Auckland on a map

Auckland is a unitary authority found in the nation of New Zealand. Home to 1,415,550 people, it is the 1st largest division in New Zealand in terms of population.

Auckland gained its current status as a unitary authority in the year 1989. The government of Auckland is lead by Len Brown and is based in the unitary authority capital of Auckland (Population: 417,910).

The most populous cities in Auckland are: Auckland (Population: 417,910), Manukau City (Population: 362,000), Waitakere (Population: 208,100), North Shore (Population: 207,865), Mangere (Population: 55,266).

Auckland Unitary authority - Quick Facts

Country New Zealand
Region Type Unitary authority
Time Zone NZST
Year of Establishment 1989
Capital Auckland (Population: 417,910)
Head of Government Len Brown
Total Population 1,415,550
Total Area 5,600 sq km (2,162 sq miles)
Population Density 252.8 sq km (654.7 sq miles)
This page was last updated on July 24, 2015.

Trending on WorldAtlas