1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Nicaragua
  4. Flags, Symbols, & Currencies of Nicaragua

Flags, Symbols, & Currencies of Nicaragua

The current version of Nicaragua’s national flag was first used on September 4, 1908. However, it wasn't officially adopted until August 27, 1971. The flag is a bicolor with three horizontal bands of blue on the top and bottom and the white band in the middle. The country’s National Coat of Arms is centered on the white band. The coat of arms features a triangle encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE NICARAGUA on the top and AMERICA CENTRAL on the bottom. The national flag has a height to length proportion of 3:5.

The two blue stripes of the flag of Nicaragua represent the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. However, according to some sources, the blue symbolizes loyalty and justice. The flag’s white color represents peace. The features present in the coat of arms also have their distinct meanings. The unity of the five member states of the United Provinces of Central America is presented as the five volcanoes. The national freedom is symbolized by the Cap of Liberty. A bright future of Nicaragua is indicated by the sun and the rainbow. The triangle is a symbol of equality. The name of the country and its position in the world are mentioned in words of gold encircling the triangle.

History Of The Flag Of Nicaragua

The flag’s design is inspired by and closely resembles that of the flag used by the former United Provinces of Central America. The design of the country’s flag, however, did undergo several changes since independence. The flag immediately preceding the current flag was used from 1908 to 1971. This flag had slight variations in the design of the Coat of Arms. The flag used in 1823 after the nation’s independence was also quite similar to the current day flag. However, the coat of arms used the title Provincias Unidas del Centro de America instead of the country’s name. The flag of the nation also used the purple color which is rare. Only the flag of Dominica used this color. The purple color is present in the rainbow featured in the coat of arms.

Historical flags of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua
Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua
Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua
Flag of Nicaragua

Symbols of Nicaragua

National Coat of Arms of Nicaragua

The coat of arms of Nicaragua was adopted in 1823 as Central America's coat of arms. However, it underwent series of changes and was introduced as Nicaragua's coat of arms in 1971. The coat of arms features a triangle encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE NICARAGUA on the top and AMERICA CENTRAL on the bottom. Inside the triangle is a rainbow (symbol of peace), five volcanos (unity of five Central American countries), and phrygian cap (liberty), 

National Anthem

  • Anthem Title: "Salve a ti, Nicaragua" ("Hail to thee, Nicaragua")
  • Music composer: Ernesto o Anselmo Castinove
  • Lyricist: Salomón Ibarra Mayorga
  • Date of Adoption: August 25, 1971

"Salve a ti, Nicaragua" ("Hail to thee, Nicaragua") is the title of Nicaragua's national anthem. The song was initially used by the Spanish monk, Fr. Ernesto o Anselmo Castinove, as a liturgical anthem. During the first years of independence, the song was used as a salutation for the Supreme Court justices and members of the Central American Federation. The anthem's lyrics were written by Salomón Ibarra Mayorga in 1918, and the anthem approved in 1039. However, it was officially adopted on August 25, 1971.

Salve a ti, Nicaragua

Salve a ti, Nicaragua! En tu suelo,

ya no ruge la voz del cañón,

ni se tiñe con sangre de hermanos

tu glorioso pendón bicolor.

Brille hermosa la paz en tu cielo,

nada empañe tu gloria inmortal,

¡qué el trabajo es tu digno laurel

y el honor es tu enseña triunfal!

"Hail to thee, Nicaragua

Hail to thee, Nicaragua! On thy land

roars the voice of the cannon no more,

nor does the blood of brothers now stain

thy glorious bicolor banner.

Let peace shine beautifully in thy sky,

and nothing dims your immortal glory,

for work is thy well earned laurel

and honor is thy triumphal emblem!

The Currency of Nicaragua is the Nicaraguan córdoba

The current official currency in Nicaragua is the Nicaraguan córdoba. The currency uses the sign C$, the code NIO, and is subdivided into 100 centavos. Nicaragua abandoned the peso on March 20th, 1912. The Nicaraguan córdoba was introduced as the new legal tender in the country. Like the Nicaraguan peso, each unit of the new currency was composed of 100 centavos. When it was introduced, the Nicaraguan córdoba was equal in value to the US dollar.

Although the córdoba is the official currency in Nicaragua, the US dollar is widely used in the country, particularly in hotels and tourist sites. Banks readily exchange international currency for the Nicaraguan córdoba. Most businesses in the country have also adopted electronic banking. Visitors can use debit and credit cards, which has improved business in the country.

Banknotes and coins

The currency was issued in the form of bronze, cupronickel, and silver coins. The first coins were introduced in 1912 in denominations of In 1912, coins were introduced in denominations of ½, 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 centavos and 1 córdoba. The current coin series are in denominations of 5, 10, 25, 50 centavos, C$1, and C$5

Banknotes were also supplied by the country’s central bank in denominations of 10, 25, and 50 centavos, as well as 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 córdoba. The currency has suffered from high inflation, which has resulted in the loss of value in the córdoba. Larger banknote denominations of 500 and 1000 córdoba have been issued to make it easier to complete large transactions. The current banknotes in circulation are in denominations of C$5, C$10, C$20, C$50, C$100, C$200, C$500, C$1,000

Nicaraguan córdoba Coin

Nicaraguan córdoba 5 centavos Coin
Nicaraguan córdoba 5 centavos Coin

Nicaraguan córdoba Banknote

Nicaraguan 500 córdobas Banknote
Nicaraguan 500 córdobas Banknote

Historical Currencies of Nicaragua

Spanish Colonial Real

When the Spaniards seized control of the Central American region in the early 16th century, they introduced the first formal currency in the area, known as the Spanish real.The Spanish colonial real was introduced in Central America in 1572. The currency existed in the form of silver, copper, and gold coins. The eight-real coin was the most famous piece of currency and was commonly referred to as the Spanish dollar. It circulated in the Spanish colonies and far beyond the region. In 1821, the Central American colonies attained independence from Spain, and the newly independent countries formed the Federal Republic of Central America and adopted the Central American Republic real as their new currency.

Central American Republic Real

The Central American Republic real was the official currency in circulation in Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Nicaragua. Introduced in 1572, it was equal in value to the Spanish colonial real. The currency existed in the form of gold and silver coins. Although Nicaragua gained independence from the Federal Republic of Central America in 1838, the country continued to use the Central American real as its legal tender until 1878. The country then adopted the Nicaraguan peso the same year.

Nicaraguan Peso

The Nicaraguan peso was the first official currency of independent Nicaragua. The currency was issued at the exchange rate of 8 reales for one Nicaraguan peso. One peso was subdivided into 100 centavos. The National Treasury issued coins made of silver or nickel in denominations of 1, 5, 10, and 20 centavos. Banknotes were also issued in denominations of 5, 25, 50, and 100 pesos. The currency was soon replaced by the Nicaraguan córdoba due to frequent devaluations.

Nicaraguan peso Banknote

Nicaraguan 1 peso Banknote
Nicaraguan 1 peso Banknote

Latest by WorldAtlas