1. World Map/
  2. Europe/
  3. The Holy See [Vatican]/
  4. Where is The Holy See [Vatican]

Where is The Holy See [Vatican]?

map showing the location of The Holy See [Vatican]

Located in the continent of Europe, Vatican covers 1 square kilometers of land, making it the 248th largest nation in terms of land area.

The Holy See [Vatican] was founded as a distinct and original nation in 1929. The population of The Holy See [Vatican] is 836 (2012) and the nation has a density of 836 people per square kilometer.

The currency of The Holy See [Vatican] is the Euro (EUR).

The dialing code for the country is 378 and the top level internet domain for sites is .va.

The Holy See [Vatican] shares land borders with only one country, Italy.

To learn more, visit our detailed Vatican section.

Quick facts

Population 836
Density 836.0 / km2 ( 2,165.2 / mi2 )
Languages Italian, Latin
Independence Year 1929
Capital Vatican City
Currency Euro
Land Area 1 km2 (0 mi2)
Neighbouring Country Italy
Minimum Longitude 12.446
Maximum Longitude 12.459
Mininum Latitude 41.898
Maximum Latitude 41.908

What is the capital of The Holy See [Vatican]?

map showing the location of The Holy See [Vatican]
Location of Vatican City on a map.

Vatican City is the capital city of Vatican City. It has a population of 829, and is located on a latitue of 41.9 and longitude of 12.45.

Vatican City is also the political center of Vatican City, which is considered a Absolute Monarchy, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Vatican City, the Capital Of The Holy See [Vatican]

City Vatican City
Country The Holy See [Vatican]
Population 829
Longitude 12.45332000
Latitude 41.90236000
Elevation 62 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in The Holy See [Vatican]

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on July 4, 2016.