Which Countries Have Coastlines On The Gulf Of Oman?

A view of the coast of Oman.
  • Although Oman's official language is Arabic other languages spoken in the country include English, Urdu, Hindi, and Baluchi.
  • In 1971 Oman officially joined the United Nations.
  • Iran was known as Persia until 1935.

The Gulf of Oman 

Also known as the Sea of Oman, the Gulf of Oman is a part of the Indian Ocean. It connects the Arabian Sea with the Strait of Hormuz which then empties into the Persian Gulf. At its widest point, this important waterway measures 210 miles across and 11,200 feet deep. In total, the Gulf of Oman covers a surface area of approximately 70,000 square miles. 

Major international shipping ports located on the Gulf of Oman include Port Sultan Qaboos in Muscat, Oman, Iran's Chabahar Port, the Port of Fujairah and Khor Fakkan Container Terminal in the United Arab Emirates. Several countries have coastlines bordering the Gulf of Oman. These the nations of Iran, Oman, Pakistan, and the United Arab Emirates. 


Bordering the Gulf of Oman to the north, Iran, officially known as the Islamic Republic of Iran, has 528 miles of coastline on the strategically important waterway. Located in western Asia, Iran occupies a total land area of 636,372 square miles and is home to a population of approximately 83,585,572 citizens. Over 75% of residents live in the nation's urban areas. Economically, the Gulf of Oman is important to Iran as it provides a water passage from the Persian Gulf to the Indian Ocean. Iranian cities situated on the gulf coastline include Gawadar Bay, Jask, and Chabahar. 


Oman, formally known as the Sultanate of Oman, borders the Gulf of Oman on the south and occupies 466 miles of coastline. As an Arab country, Oman is an absolute monarchy that is governed by a Sultan. The current leader of the nation is Haitham bin Tatiq who began his reign in January 2020. Like many countries which border large bodies of water, agriculture and commercial fishing play major roles in Oman's economy. Popular attractions in Oman include Mutrah Souq, a traditional Arab marketplace, as well as the Grand Mosque, a large Islamic place of worship. Both of these sites are located in Muscat which is not only the capital but also the most populous city in Oman. 


The country of Pakistan, which is officially known as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, shares a maritime boundary with the neighboring nation of Oman. It also occupies some 31 miles of coastline bordering the Gulf of Oman. Composed of 340,509 square miles this Islamic nation of 219,255,587 people ranks as the world's 33rd largest country and the sixth-most populous. About 96% of its residents are Muslims. The remaining population is made up of various religions including Hindus, Christians, Sikhs, and Ahmadiyya. 

Although agriculture still plays an important part in Pakistan's economy, the country has increasingly been developing its service industries as well as domestic production of materials such as textiles and cement.  

United Arab Emirates

Bordering the Gulf of Oman on the west, the United Arab Emirates occupies 31 miles of Gulf coastline. The west Asian nation of 9,846,183 comprises a total land area of 32,278 square miles. Most of its population (approximately 86%) live in the country's urbanized regions. The country's government can be described as a federal constitutional monarchy. The head of state is the president, currently Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan who has been in power since 2004.


More in World Facts