World Facts

Where Is the Golden Triangle?

The Golden Triangle refers to the area where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar meet.

The term “Golden Triangle” refers to an area of about 367,000 square miles found in South Asia. Located within the triangle are three countries: Myanmar, Laos, and Thailand. These countries are located at the convergence point of Rivers Mekong and Ruak. The name “Golden Triangle” was an invention of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

The Significance of the Golden Triangle

The Golden Triangle has been associated with illicit drugs, opium, and drug cartels. As a result, it is a dangerous zone. Its location in a remote area and rough terrains have historically made it a difficult area for the government to infiltrate. The economies of the countries within the Golden Triangle depend on the production and sale of illicit opium. In fact, the activities of the Golden Triangle have led to the development of infrastructure in the surrounding countries.

Results of Activities Within the Golden Triangle

Efforts to end the drug production in the Golden Triangle have been unsuccessfully due to various reasons. One of the reasons is that the drug cartel affairs have been highly integrated into government affairs. As a result, there is rarely a distinction between the drug kingpins and state builders. Moreover, it is also difficult to distinguish between private and public funds for purposes of economic development of Laos, Thailand, and Myanmar.

About the Author

Sharon is a Kenyan native with a wide range of interests. An accountant and financial analyst by profession, Sharon enjoys writing about world facts, the environment, society, politics, and more.


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.

More in World Facts