What Type Of Government Does Pakistan Have?

Prime Minister's Secretariat in Islamabad.
Prime Minister's Secretariat in Islamabad.

Pakistan has a federal parliamentary republic type of government and is known as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. It has administrative areas called provinces and territories. The Pakistani government is made up of three branches which are the executive, legislative and the judiciary. The three arms are represented by the Supreme Court, the Parliament, and the Prime Minister. The duties and the powers of the three branches are defined by the amendments and acts of the Parliament which include the establishment of governmental departments, courts that are less superior to the Supreme Court and executive institutions.The country gained independence on August 14th, 1947 from British India.

Duties Of The President Of Pakistan

The President who is the Commander in Chief of the Pakistan Armed Forces has certain powers and duties including; promulgating ordinances and signing bills into laws, granting pardons and reducing sentences. The President also acts as the ceremonial figurehead while the Prime Minister who is elected by the Pakistani people acts as the chief executive and is granted the sole responsibility for running the federal government. The President of Pakistan exercises his or her executive duties and powers on the advice of the country's Prime Minister.

The Legislative Branch Of The Government Of Pakistan

The legislative branch of the government of Pakistan is made up of a bicameral parliament that was inherited from the United Kingdom. The parliament is composed of two houses, namely the National Assembly, which is the lower house comprises of 342 members, 272 who are directly elected by the people and 70 seats reserved for religious minorities and women. The other house is the Senate which is comprised of 104 Senators elected by the members of the provincial assemblies. The Pakistani Parliament has enjoyed parliamentary supremacy since the Prime Minister together with all Cabinet ministers are required to be members of parliament according to the constitution.

The Executive Branch Of The Government Of Pakistan

The executive branch of the Pakistani government is the one solely responsible and authorized to perform the daily duties of the state. The executive branch is composed of the Prime Minister and the cabinet.The Prime Minister is the executive head of the Pakistan government popularly elected through direct parliamentary elections. The Prime Minister of Pakistan is responsible for running the government and appointing a cabinet. The Prime Minister also appoints the chairmen of most institutions and corporations in the country, together with directors and executives. The Cabinet of Pakistan can only have 50 members, including the Prime Minister. Every Cabinet member is required to be a Member of Parliament (MP).

Judicial Branch Of The Government Of Pakistan

The Pakistan judiciary comprises of the District Courts, Environmental courts, Sharia Courts, Provincial Courts and Anti-terrorism courts all under The Supreme Court. The Pakistan Supreme Court comprises of the Chief Justice and other 16 judges who are appointed by the President following consultations with the Chief Justice.

Disputed Areas

By 2012, the Pakistani-administered portion of the disputed Jammu and Kashmir region consisting of 2 administrative entities: Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan which is approximately 37% of the entire region. India administers abour 43% of the area covering the areas of Kasmirvalley, Ladakh, and saichen Glacier, while China administers Demchok district, Shaksgam Valley, and Aksai Chin region.


More in Politics