What Type Of Government Does Ecuador Have?

Carondelet Palace, which seats the executive power.
Carondelet Palace, which seats the executive power.

What Type of Government Does Ecuador Have?

Ecuador is a representative democratic republic located in the South America. The country covers the Galapagos Islands in the Pacific. Ecuador has had 87 governments and 17 constitutions within its 159 years of independence with only twenty of those governments resulting from a democratic election. The Republic of Ecuador is a multi-party state governed by a a president and a unicameral parliament elected on a four-year term The president and the legislators may be re-elected while Suffrage is universal and compulsory for literate people aged 18 to 65. The government of Ecuador is composed of;

The Executive Branch Of Government

The executive branch of the government of Ecuador is headed by the president who is for a four-year term with a possibility or re-election but only once. The president is responsible for a public administration which includes the appointment of government officials like national coordinators, the cabinet, ambassadors, and high commissioners among other appointments. The executive branch is made up of the president and his vice, 28 ministers, provincial governors and councilors. The executive branch is charged with the responsibility of defining foreign policies, appointing chancellor of the republic, and protecting the territory and the sovereignty of Ecuador. The current president of Ecuador is Rafael Correa.

The National Assembly Of Ecuador

The legislative branch if the government of Ecuador is embodied by the national assembly which consists of 130 assemblypersons. The national assembly replaced the National Congress in 2009. The national assembly is headed by the president of the national assembly and is elected to a four-year term. The assemblymen are divided into ten committees. The candidate to the National Assembly must be an Ecuadorian national, must have attained the age of 18 at the time of registering for their candidacy, and must be in possession of political right. The National Assembly is responsible for passing laws. The current National Assembly was elected on February 17, 2013, with PAIS capturing 52% of the votes.

The Judicial Branch Of Ecuador

The Judicial Council is the main Ecuador’s judiciary and is made up of the National Court of Justice, Provincial Courts, and the Lower Courts. The Judicial Council makes the legal representation in Ecuador. The National Court of Justice is made up of twenty-one judges who are elected to a nine-year term and are renewed by thirds every three years. The office of the public prosecutor and public defender form part of the Ecuador’s judicial system. The other auxiliary organs forming part of the justice system include the notaries, court auctioneers, and court receivers.

The Electoral Branch

The electoral system of Ecuador comes to play every four years, during a referendum or when an election occurs. The main functions of the electoral branch are to organize, conduct, and control elections and punish those who infringe on the electoral laws. The National Electoral Council is made up of seven members drawn from political bodies with most votes and enjoys financial and administrative autonomy. The National Electoral Council and the Electoral Court form the Electoral Branch.

The Transparency And Social Control Branch

The transparency and social control promote transparency and controls plan publicly as well as device ways of combating corruption and promoting accountability in the country. This branch of government is made up of Council of Citizens Participation and Social Control, the Comptroller General, the Ombudsman, and the Superintendent who hold the office for five years.


More in Politics