What Type Of Government Does Croatia Have?

The residence of the government of Croatia.
The residence of the government of Croatia.

The head of Government in Croatia is the Prime Minister of the country who is nominated by the country's President. The country comprises of 20 other government members who serve as either government ministers or deputy prime ministers or both. The government members are selected by the prime minister and confirmed by the Parliament also known as Sabor. The government of Croatia exercises its executive authority in accordance to the legislation and the Croatian Constitution enacted by Parliament.

The Term Government Of Croatia

The term government, locally known as Vlada in Croatia, is used to refer to the executive branch. The terminology is used in dialogues by the press and the government - it is the governmental branch responsible for governing the nation. The terminology can also be used when referring to the three branches of government collectively, encompassing the legislature, the judiciary and other branches of the government, including civil servants, which make up the state of Croatia.

The Structure And Power Of The Croatian Government

The Prime Minister (PM) heads the executive authority of Croatia which is the government. Currently, the Prime Minister has four deputy prime ministers who are elected by the Sabor. The deputy prime ministers also serve as ministers in the government together with 16 others who with the approval of the Sabor are appointed by the PM. Each minister is therefore responsible for heading a particular ministerial post such as the Foreign Affairs. The deputies together with the prime minister form an inner cabinet. The primary responsibility of the inner cabinet - also known as the core cabinet - is to supervise and coordinate the work of the ministers on the PM's behalf. If the Croatian prime minister becomes incapacitated, the first deputy takes the place of the PM. The Croatian government's executive branch is responsible for proposing a budget, guiding the country's internal and foreign policies, legislations and executing the laws. The official government residence is located at the Banski dvori in Zagreb. Occasionally, the cabinet holds its meetings elsewhere within the country, but usually, the meetings take place at the Banski dvori.

The Operations Of The Croatian Government

In Croatia, government meetings are publicly held. However, the government may decide what sessions or part of a session to hold privately. If the prime minister is not available, he or she may assign any one of his deputies to represent him or take over the entire task. The legal minimum number of government members required to be present during a government session is the majority. For big decisions such as uniting with other nations, changes to the Croatian Constitution, changing the Croatian border, calling a referendum, transferring any part of the Croatian sovereignty to supernational organizations, or dissolving parliament, a majority vote of two-thirds is required. However, most decisions are made by taking a simple majority vote. If the government of Croatia is unable to meet, the inner cabinet can act in place of the government during emergencies.

The Current Government Of Croatia

The current Croatian Constitution was adopted in 1990, establishing the present form of government. As of October 10, 2016, Andrej Plenković has been the Prime Minister of Croatia. The prime minister has four deputies and they are Ivan Kovačić, Martina Dalić, Davor Ivo Stier and Damir Krstičević. Three of the government ministers are independent politicians while the rest are from either the Bridge of Independent Lists (MOST) or the Croatian Democratic Union.


More in Politics