What Continent Is Slovakia In?

Slovakia is home to a number of World Heritage Sites.
Slovakia is home to a number of World Heritage Sites.

Slovakia is a landlocked country located in central Europe. It is bordered by Austria and the Czech Republic to the west, Ukraine to the east, Poland to the north, and Hungary to the south. Slovakia was made a territory of the Soviet Union in 1948. It was then referred to as Czechoslovakia, a union between the current Czech Republic and Slovakia. Slovakia and the Czech Republic became independent from each other on January 1, 1993. The country has a population of approximately 5 million people, with approximately 80% of the total population being native Slavs. The largest and the capital city of Slovakia is Bratislava.

Geography and Climate of Slovakia

Slovakia covers an area of approximately 49,000 square kilometers. It lies between longitudes 16° and 23° E and latitudes 47° and 50° N. Slovakia’s landscape is characterized by mountains. The Carpathian Mountains are located in the northern region of the country. Among the most notable peaks in the country are those of Tatras Mountains, Lesser Fatra, Slovak Central Mountains, Slovak Ore Mountains, the Greater Fatra, Lesser Fatra, and Slovak Central Mountains or the Beskids. Approximately 41% of the country is forested.

The climate of Slovakia can be described as temperate and continental climate. The summers are usually warm whereas the winters are characterized by high humidity, cool temperatures, frost, and cloudy skies. The winter season starts on December 21 and lasts up to late March or early April. January tends to be the coldest month with temperatures ranging from−5 to −10 °C (23 to 14 °F). The cold season is normally severe in the Northern mountain ranges than in the southern plains. In fact temperatures on the mountains may fall to about −20 °C (−4 °F) or even lower. Summer, which normally kicks off on the last week of June, is characterized by high temperatures which go above 30 °C (86 °F). The hottest month in the country is July. July temperatures tend to be around 37 to 40 °C (99 to 104 °F). Summers in the north are usually milder than in the Southern region.

Government of Slovakia

Slovakia is a parliamentary representative state. The country practices multi-party democracy. The presidential elections are held after every five years. The president is the head of state and government. The president appoints the prime minister and members of the cabinet. The unicameral parliament of Slovakia is made up of 150 delegates. The delegates are elected on the basis of proportional representation to serve a four-year term.

Slovakia Is In Europe

Slovakia is a landlocked nation in Europe. Geographically, it is situated in central Europe, and bordered by other European countries. Slovakia is a member of organizations that are composed of European countries such as the European Union. In fact, representatives are elected in the country to represent the Slovakians in the European Parliament. The country joined the European Union and NATO in 2004 and Eurozone in 2009. The country also participates in games and tournaments involving European countries.


More in World Facts