US State Amphibians

The American Bullfrog is the state amphibian of 4 states.
The American Bullfrog is the state amphibian of 4 states.

A national symbol is an item that represents or symbolizes a country. It can be the flag, the seal of the country, a specific animal, plant, color, artifact, or the national anthem. The national symbols of the United States include the Seal of the United States, the flag, and the national anthem. Each of 50 states of America has its official state symbols that represent the natural treasure, cultural heritage, and the people of the state. The adoption of state symbols began in 1893 when a National Garland of Flowers was created for the World's Fair in Chicago. The garland consisted of flowers collected from each state. State symbols are not unique, and a state can have more than one symbol, in fact, several states have the same symbols. 23 US states and Puerto Rico have designated amphibians as one of their state symbols, with several states sharing the same amphibian.

The Most Common US State Amphibians

American Bullfrog

The American bullfrog was adopted as the state symbol of Iowa (unofficial), Oklahoma (1997), Missouri (2005), and Ohio (2010). These states designated the American bullfrog as the state symbol because it is the largest frog in North America and can be found in plenty in marshes, ponds, and slow-moving streams across the states. The frog is known to eat other frogs, mice, crayfish, and insects. During mating season, these frogs croak loudly that we can be heard from a mile away. The lifespan is between seven and nine years with a maximum of eleven years.

The Spotted Salamander

The spotted salamander was adopted as the state amphibian in Ohio and South Carolina in 2010 and 1991 respectively. The Ohio lawmakers settled for the spotted salamander because it inhabits every corner of the state. South Carolina designated the amphibian after a third-grade class at Woodlands Heights Elementary School in Spartanburg campaigned for its adoption because it is the only amphibian native to the state. The spotted salamander inhabits semi-permanent pools in deciduous forests but avoids pond with fish and constant flooding.

Western Tiger Salamander

The western tiger salamander or barred tiger salamander was adopted as the state amphibian for Kansas and Colorado in 1991 and 2012 respectively. Both states opted for the salamander because it can be found in plenty within the respective state boundaries. The salamander is nocturnal and feeds on various insects, earthworms, and slugs.

American Green Tree Frog

The American green tree frog was designated the state symbol for Louisiana in 1993 and Georgia in 2005. The green tree frog is found in abundance in ponds, canals, and swamps across Louisiana and Georgia, and it was for the reason that Louisiana opted for the frog. Georgia chose the frog to represent the diverse number of amphibians in the state. The frog feeds on spiders and insects but is fed on by snakes, raccoons, and fish.

Northern Leopard Frog

The northern leopard frog was designated the state symbol of Vermont and Minnesota in 1998 and 1999 respectively. Vermont opted for the frog because it is considered an endangered species in the state and for its beautiful colors. Minnesota settled for the northern leopard frog to help in the conservation of the endangered species.

States with More Than Two Amphibians

The states of Ohio and North Carolina are the only two states in the country that have more than one amphibian listed as a state symbol. Ohio designated the spotted salamander as the state amphibian and the American bullfrog as the state frog in 2010. North Carolina designated both the Pine Barrens tree frog as the state frog and the marbled salamander as the state salamander in 2013. North Carolina designated the two amphibians to raise awareness of the importance of amphibian conservation.

US State Amphibians

RankState/TerritoryState AmphibianScientific NameYear
1AlabamaRed Hills salamanderPhaeognathus hubrichti2000
2ArizonaArizona tree frogHyla eximia1986
3CaliforniaCalifornia red-legged frogRana draytonii2014
4ColoradoWestern tiger salamanderAmbystoma mavortium2012
5GeorgiaAmerican green tree frogHyla cinerea2005
6IdahoIdaho giant salamanderDicamptodon aterrimus2015
7IllinoisEastern tiger salamanderAmbystoma tigrinum2005
8IowaAmerican bullfrogRana catesbeianaUnofficial
9KansasBarred tiger salamanderAmbystoma mavortium2005
10LouisianaAmerican green tree frogHyla cinerea1993
11MinnesotaNorthern leopard frogRana pipiensProposed in 1999
12MissouriAmerican bullfrogRana catesbeiana2005
13New HampshireRed-spotted newtNotophthalmus viridescens1985
14New MexicoNew Mexico spadefoot toadSpea multiplicata2003
15New YorkWood frogLithobates sylvaticusProposed in 2015
16North Carolina (state frog)Pine barrens tree frog Hyla andersonii2013
17North Carolina (state salamander)Marbled salamander Ambystoma opacum2013
18Ohio (state amphibian)Spotted salamander Ambystoma maculatum2010
19Ohio (state frog)American bullfrog Rana catesbeiana2010
20OklahomaAmerican bullfrogRana catesbeiana1997
21Puerto RicoCommon coquíEleutherodactylus coquiUnofficial
22South CarolinaSpotted salamanderAmbystoma maculatum1999
23TennesseeTennessee cave salamanderGyrinophilus palleucus1995
24TexasTexas toadBufo speciosus2009
25VermontNorthern leopard frogRana pipiens1998
26WashingtonPacific tree frogPseudacris regilla2007

More in World Facts