University of Cambridge - Educational Institutions Around the World

The campus of Cambridge.
The campus of Cambridge.

The University of Cambridge (informally known as Cambridge University) is a globally reputed university located in Cambridge, England, United Kingdom.

5. History

Cambridge is rich in history. In 1233, a bull from Pope Gregory IX gave graduates from Cambridge university the right to teach “everywhere in the Christendom”. Peterhouse was Cambridge’s first college, created in 1284. Many other colleges were formed through the 14th and 15th century and in medieval times. Robinson, the newest college at Cambridge, was built in the late 1970s. Pure mathematics at Cambridge in the 19th in date. The Cambridge University Act worked to organization the layout of the university, introducing the study of many other subjects such as theology, history and modern languages. Cambridge has been awarding doctorates since the early 20th century and continues to do so to this day.

4. Founding

Cambridge University was founded in 1209 and given the royal charter status by King Henry III in 1231. Cambridge is one of the oldest universities in the English-speaking world, as well as the world at large. The roots of the University of Cambridge can be traced to scholars from Oxford.

3. Rankings

The University of Cambridge has proven to be a centre of excellence over the centuries it has been in existence. It has been ranked several times as a leading school not only in the United Kingdom but also the world. The Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) and the QS World University Rankings ranked it as the 1st nationally and the 4th worldwide. From 2014 to 2015, it was ranked second after Oxford University as per academic performance.

2. Structure

Cambridge University is composed of separate colleges, each with its own property and income. This makes it a collegiate university. Within these colleges are faculties, schools and departments. The Vice Chancellor is in charge of governing these colleges. Cambridge has the Senate and the Regent House which elects the Chancellor and the High Steward. Some of Cambridge's 31 colleges only admit women although initially, the college only admitted men. Some other colleges include, Clare, Magdalene, Hughes Hall and St. Edmund’s college among many others. The university is also made up of 150 departments, faculties, schools, syndicates and other institutions. Some of the schools in Cambridge include: School of Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Technology. Cambridge has 114 libraries and several museums among them the Cambridge University Museum of Zoology and the Museum of Classical Archeology.

1. Alumni

Cambridge has been the home of many notable alumni who have excelled in their fields over the centuries thus promoting worldwide development with their knowledge. Some of these alumni include celebrated scientists like Sir Isaac Newton, biologist Charles Darwin, Sir Francis Bacon and mathematician John Dee. Other notable alumni include Sir Ian Wilmut, the man responsible for the first mammal cloning and Ernest Rutherford, the father of nuclear physics.


More in Society