Who Was the First President of India?

A stamp showing the portrait of Rajenda Prasad, the first president of India. Editorial credit: Lefteris Papaulakis / Shutterstock.com.
A stamp showing the portrait of Rajenda Prasad, the first president of India. Editorial credit: Lefteris Papaulakis / Shutterstock.com.

India is a parliamentary democratic republic. The President of India serves as the head of state. Only an Indian citizen that is of the ages of 35 years or older is eligible to be elected and sworn in as the President in India. The members of two houses of the Parliament and the members of the Vidhan Sabha of all of the states elect him or her. The first President of India was Rajendra Prasad, who assumed the position in 1950. 

Duties of the President of India

The President of India enjoys enormous power and has numerous duties, including making appointments for a variety of important posts. Some of these posts are of the Governors of States, the Chief Justice of India, Judges of Supreme Court and High Courts, Comptroller and Auditor General, Chief Election Commissioner, Chairman of the UPSC, Vice Chancellor and academic staff of central universities. His duty is also to protect the constitution of India. He also has vast executive powers to execute duties such as remaining thoroughly informed in regard to all of the affairs of the country to declare war, national emergency, financial emergency or imposition of President’s rule, if there is a serious threat to the internal security or external threat to the country. In India, the President is the head of the state and commander-in-chief of the military.

History of the Position

Since independence in 1947, many Presidents have served the nation with integrity and dedication, of which the most prolific name is the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad, who was a freedom fighter. He remained in his post for long 12 years. The second President of India was Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who within his small tenure of five years successfully left an incredible impression of his work. The country celebrates his birthday 5th September as Teacher’s day. Up to the present date, only four Presidents have been awarded the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India. These are S Radhakrishnan, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Hussain and Dr. A.P.J. Kalam.

Presidents Of India Through History

RankPresidents of IndiaTerm(s) in Office
1Rajendra Prasad1950-1962
2Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan1962-1967
3Zakir Husain1967-1969
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri1969-1974
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed1974-1977
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1977-1982
7Giani Zail Singh1982-1987
8Ramaswamy Venkataraman1987-1992
9Shankar Dayal Sharma1992-1997
10Kocheril Raman Narayanan1997-2002
11A. P. J. Abdul Kalam2002-2007
12Pratibha Patil2007-2012
13Pranab Mukherjee2012-2017
14Ram Nath KovindIncumbent

More in Politics