List of Presidents of Bolivia

Evo Morales, the incumbent president of Bolivia. Editorial credit: Golden Brown /

Bolivia, officially known as the Plurinational State of Bolivia, is a country in western-central South America. It is one of the two landlocked countries in South America, the other being Paraguay. The country is led by a president who is the head of the state and head of government and is elected by a popular vote for a five-year term and can only run for two terms. The seat of the presidency was founded on August 11, 1825, but its history has involved civil wars, various coups, and violence.

Presidents Of Bolivia Since 1982

Hernán Siles Zuazo

Hernán Siles Zuazo, born March 21, 1914, in La Paz, was a Bolivian president who was constitutionally elected twice in 1956 and 1982. In 1978, elections were conducted and then closed due to massive fraud cases. In the 1980 election, Siles won but could not take office since he did not get a majority vote in Congress. In September 1982, the military renounced the 1980 election and reconfirmed them. Siles was then elected as president on October 5th and sworn in on 10th October for his second term.

Víctor Paz Estenssoro

Víctor Paz Estenssoro was born in Tarija, Bolivia on October 2, 1907, and was a politician who ran for the presidency eight times in the country’s history. He won only four times. His last term began in 1985 when he succeeded Hernan Siles. 

Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada

Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada was a Bolivian politician who served as the president of the country for two terms. His first term began in 1993 and ended in 1997 where he initiated various social, economic, and constitutional reforms. 

Jorge Quiroga

Jorge Quiroga was born on May 5, 1960, in Cochabamba, Bolivia. He served for a year as the Bolivian president from August 7, 2001, to August 6, 2002. He succeeded Hugo Banzer after his resignation on July 1, 2001, due to heightened health problems.

Evo Morales (Incumbent)

Evo Morales is the current president of Bolivia. He was born to a subsistence farmer believed to be indigenous to the country. He was elected in 2005, succeeding Eduardo Rodriguez. He assumed office on January 22, 2006, and his government has majorly focused on combating the influences from the United States and other multinational corporations, poverty alleviation, and social equality. After his election, he has managed to reduce the country’s dependence on the World Bank and the International Monetary Funds.

Roles of the President of Bolivia

The president of the Plurinational State of Bolivia is appointed by direct popular election. The president represents the national unity and the legitimacy of the state, and is in a position to declare a state emergency as stipulated by the Bolivian constitution

Presidents Of Bolivia Since 1982

Presidents of Bolivia Since 1982Term in Office
Hernán Siles Zuazo
Víctor Paz Estenssoro
Jaime Paz Zamora
Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada
Hugo Banzer
Jorge Quiroga
Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada
Carlos Mesa
Eduardo Rodríguez
Evo Morales (Incumbent)2006-Present

More in Politics