World Facts

Countries That Start With the Letter D

There are four countries in the world that start with the letter D.

Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, and the Dominican Republic are all countries whose names begin with D. Only four countries have names that begin with D. The most popular letter for countries to begin with is A.

The following country names begin with the letter D:

  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic

Which Countries Start With The Letter D?


Denmark's name comes from the country's original inhabitants, called the Danes. Denmark borders the Atlantic Ocean and occupies 16,573 square miles. It is quite green and flat with sandy coastlines and receives plenty of rainfall. Denmark is ruled by both the monarchy and the parliamentary system. Denmark has close to six million people who are rated the happiest in the world due to developed infrastructures, quality education, and health services plus equality in resource distribution. The official language is Danish.


The name Djibouti has two meanings: the first came from the word “Jab Bouti” meaning an animal that was preying on livestock, and the second theory states the ancient occupants called the Afar named the region “Gabouti”, meaning the flatland. The French eventually named it Djibouti. Djibouti has been inhabited for over 3,500 years. It became a republic in 1977. Djibouti is largely a desert.


Dominica is a Latin word meaning the place where God resides. On Sunday 3, 1493, Columbus passed by the island and named it “Sunday.” Dominica’s ancient occupants were the Kalinago tribe though they were later colonized by the French. They attained independence in 1978. Dominica borders the Caribbean Sea and is a very small island of only 290 square miles.

Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is located in the Caribbean and neighbors Haiti on Hispaniola Island. The country's name means “that which belongs to the Lord”. The Dominican Republic neighbors the Caribbean and the Atlantic Ocean. At 18,704 square miles, it is the largest of the countries that begin with D. The Dominican Republic has a population of 10,800,000 people who largely speak Spanish.

​What is Common about the Four “D” Countries?

Explorer Christopher Columbus passed by all the four nations due to their proximity to the sea. This also makes them attractive tourist destinations. The French at one point dominated the rule of all four countries.

List of Countries That Start With the Letter D

Countries That Start With The Letter D
Dominican Republic

More in World Facts