1. World Map/
  2. Heard and Mcdonald Islands Flag and Description

Heard and Mcdonald Islands Flag and Description

Heard and McDonald Islands Flag


The islands are an Australian possession, and therefore fly the flag of Australia.

That flag was officially adopted on May 22, 1909. It includes a blue ensign and three motifs, each signifying important aspects of statehood.

The 5 stars of the southern cross appear on the right half, the commonwealth star and the Union Jack are shown at left.

The southern cross is visible in the southern night skies and has been used as a navigational tool for centuries.The commonwealth star originally represented the six federal states. The seventh point was added in 1909 to help signify the addition of the Northern Territory. The Union Jack was named the national flag in 1788, and it remains on the current flag denoting Australia's historical links with Great Britain.

all Country Flags here!

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on August 31, 2020.