1. World Map/
  2. Europe/
  3. Hungary/
  4. Hungary Symbols

Hungarian Symbols

Hungary's Information

Flag of Hungary
Land Area 89,608 km2
Water Area 3,420 km2
Total Area 93,028km2 (#108)
Population 9,874,784 (#90)
Population Density 110.20/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $268.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $27,200
Currency Forint (HUF)
More Information Hungary
Largest Cities
  • Bird: Turul (mythical falcon)
  • Coat of Arms:

    Flag of Hungary

  • Coat of Arms: Hungary's coat of arms dates back to the Middle Ages, but wasn't reinstated until July 3, 1990, after the communist rule came to an end. It is composed of a shield split into two parts, and the Holy Crown resting on top.

    The right side of the shield (the sinister) contains a double cross inside of a small golden crown, both of which sit on top of three green hills. The hills represent the Tatra, Matra and Fatra ranges.

    The left side (the dexter) contains alternating red and silver stripes (four each).
  • Flag of Hungary
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Europe