1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. India/
  4. India Symbols

Indian Symbols

India's Information

Flag of India
Land Area 2,973,193 km2
Water Area 314,070 km2
Total Area 3,287,263km2 (#7)
Population 1,266,883,598 (#2)
Population Density 426.10/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $8,720.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,700
Currency Rupee (INR)
More Information India
Largest Cities
  • Animal: Bengal Tiger
  • Bird: Indian Peacock
  • Coat of Arms:

    Flag of India

  • Coat of Arms: India's coat of arms contains four Indian lions (symbolizing royalty and pride) standing on a wheel, known as the Ashoka Chakra (which represents truth and honesty).

    Written in Sanskrit is the verse Satyamev Jayate, a revered saying in the ancient language, which translates to, "Only (the one who speaks) the truth will win or wins."
  • Flag of India
  • Flower: Lotus
  • Fruit: Mango
  • Heritage Animal: Indian Elephant
  • Icon: Gray Langur
  • Marine Mammal: Gangetic dolphin
  • Motto: "Satyameva Jayate" ("Truth Alone Triumphs")
  • Reptile: King Cobra
  • Sport: Field Hockey
  • Tree: Indian banyan tree
This page was last updated on May 14, 2018.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia