1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Mauritius/
  4. Mauritius Timeline

Mauritius History Timeline

Mauritius's Information

Flag of Mauritius
Land Area 2,030 km2
Water Area 10 km2
Total Area 2,040km2 (#169)
Population 1,348,242 (#155)
Population Density 664.16/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $25.85 Billion
GDP Per Capita $20,500
Currency Rupee (MUR)
Largest Cities
900s AD - 1600s
  • (900s) Arab sailors visited the uninhabited Mauritius and named it Dina Robin
  • (1507) Portuguese navigator, Diogo Fernandes Pereira, visited the island but did not settle
  • (1598) The Dutch claimed the uninhabited island and renamed it after their head of state, Maurice - Prince of Orange and Count of Nassau
  • (1638) Dutch settlers attempted to colonize Mauritius
  • (1662) The last known sighting of a Dodo bird (species endemic to Mauritius)
  • (1710) The Dutch abandoned Mauritius after a second failed attempt at settling the island
  • (1715) The French East India Company claimed Mauritius and renamed it Ille de France
  • (1721) French settlement began and Port Louis was founded as a base against the British in India
  • (1767) Control of the island was transferred to the French government
  • (1810) British forces captured Mauritius during the Battle of Grand Port
  • (1814) Mauritius, along with Seychelles, was ceded to Britain under the Treaty of Paris
  • (1834) Slavery was abolished
  • (1835) An indentured labor system was introduced on Mauritius bringing in hundreds of thousands of workers from India
  • (1866) A malaria epidemic killed more than 40,000 people after an accidental introduction of the Anopheles mosquito to the island
  • (1910) The indentured labor system was abolished
  • (1936) The Mauritian Labor Party (MLP) was founded by Dr. Maurice Cure
  • (1937) Rioters demanded better economic conditions and participation in government affairs
  • (1948) A new constitution granted many Indians and Creoles the right to vote
  • (1957) An internal self-government was introduced
  • (1958) A new constitution granted all adults over 21 the right to vote
  • (1959) Seewoosagur Ramgoolam was elected Chief Minister of Mauritius
  • (1960) Cyclone Carol caused widespread damage and left thousands homeless
  • (1964) Hindus and Creoles clashed in an ethnic riot
  • (1968) Mauritius gained independence with Ramgoolam as Prime Minister
  • (1969) The oppositional Mauritian Militant Movement (MMM) was founded by Paul Berenger
  • (1971) A state of emergency was declared after the union-backed MMM called for a series of strikes, Paul Berenger was arrested
  • (1979) Cyclone Claudette devastated the island
  • (1982) Sir Anerood Jugnauth elected prime minister
  • (1985) Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, known as the Father of the Nation, died
  • (1989) The Port Louis Stock Exchange opened
  • (1992) Mauritius was declared an official republic by Prime Minister Jugnauth; MMM member Cassam Uteem was elected president
  • (1995) Navin Ramgoolam elected prime minister
  • (2000) Sir Anerood Jugnauth elected prime minister
  • (2002) Both the president and vice-president resigned after refusing to sign a controversial anti-terrorism bill; the bill was passed and Karl Hoffman was elected president
  • (2005) Navin Ramgoolam won the general election and returned as prime minister
  • (2013) Flash flooding killed 11 people in Port Louis
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa