1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Japan/
  4. Kyoto Prefecture

Prefecture of Kyoto, Japan

Location of prefecture of Kyoto on a map

Kyoto is a prefecture found in the nation of Japan. Home to 2,644,331 people, it is the 13th largest division in Japan in terms of population.

Kyoto gained its current status as a prefecture in the year 1868. The government of Kyoto is lead by Keiji Yamadaand is based in the prefecture capital of Kyoto (Population: 1,459,640).

The most populous cities in Kyoto are: Kyoto (Population: 1,459,640), Uji (Population: 192,925), Kameoka (Population: 97,181), Maizuru (Population: 92,465), Kamigyo-ku (Population: 83,000).

Kyoto Prefecture - Quick Facts

Country Japan
Region Type Prefecture
ISO Code JP_26
Time Zone JST
Year of Establishment 1868
Capital Kyoto (Population: 1,459,640)
Head of Government Keiji Yamada
Total Population 2,644,331
Total Area 4,613 sq km (1,781 sq miles)
Population Density 573.2 sq km (1,484.7 sq miles)
This page was last updated on July 24, 2015.

Trending on WorldAtlas