What Do the Colors and Symbols of the Flag of Uruguay Mean?

By on in World Facts
The current flag of Uruguay.

The current flag of Uruguay was officially adopted on July 11, 1830.

The Sun of May has been used as a national symbol since the 19th century. The blue and white colors are modeled after the flag of Argentina, and the nine stripes represent the nine departments within the country.

Historical Versions of the Flag of Uruguay

Uruguay has used its current flag since 1830. However, prior to this, Uruguay flew a number of different flags while it was under Spanish and Brazilian rule. Between 1821 and 1825, when Uruguay was known as Provincia Oriental, a flag with three horizontal stripes of green and white was flown.

The flag flown between 1828 and 1830 was very similar to the flag flown today with a number of differences. The sun featured in the left hand corner was slightly different. Additionally, there were 19 stripes on the flag, compared to the nine stripes featured on the modern flag. Of these 19 stripes, nine were light blue and 10 were white. The nine light blue stripes represented the original national departments of Uruguay.

Current Version of the Flag of Uruguay

In 1830, the shade of blue used in the flag was changed, and the number of stripes were reduced. In addition, the appearance of the sun was also changed. In the previous version of the flag, only the blue stripes stood for the national departments. However, after 1830, the symbolism was changed so that all colors of the flag (white and blue) stand for national departments, not just blue.

The flag of Uruguay was designed by Joaquin Suárez, a former head of state who served during Uruguay's fight for independence from Spain.

More in World Facts