1. World Map/
  2. Asia /

Map of Sea of Okhotsk - Sea of Okhotsk Map, History Location, Sea of Okhotsk Facts

Sea of Okhotsk

Positioned between the Kamchatka Peninsula, the Russian coastline, Sakhalin Island, the Japanese island of Hokkaido and the Kuril Islands, the Sea of Okhotsk is an extension of the North Pacific Ocean.

In this northern sea winter navigation is usually difficult, and at times impossible due to ice. Regardless, commerce still flows most of the year through the important Russian ports of Magadan, Palana and Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk.

With the exception of Japan's Hokkaido Island, the Sea of Okhotsk is surrounded on all sides by territory administered and controlled by the Russian Federation.

However, Japan still maintains a claim to the four southernmost islands of the Kuril Archipelago, including Kunashir, Iturup, Shikotan, and the Habomai rocks. Japan calls them the Northern Territories.

Click for Forecast Click for Forecast Click for Forecast

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on September 29, 2015.