Spain Timeline

Looking to learn about Spain in under 1 minute? Check out our Where is Spain? page, or What is the Capital of Spain? page.

  • (12000 BC) Stone Age hunters painted sophisticated cave art near Santander
  • (1100 BC) Southern Iberia colonized by Phonecians
  • (228 BC) Carthaginians occupied southern Iberia
  • (218-220 BC) Iberian Peninsula taken over by Romans in Second Punic War
74 AD - 900 AD
  • (74) Roman citizenship given to inhabitants of Iberia
  • (237) Carthage invaded the Iberian Peninsula
  • (711) Iberia invaded by Muslim army
  • (756) Cordoba, capital of new independent Emirate, formed in Iberia
  • (913) Christians set up capital in Leon after northern Spain territories are retaken
1000s - 1400s
  • (1013) Spain seperated into small kingdoms
  • (1085) Christian kingdom took over Toledo
  • (1137) Kingdom of Aragon formed
  • (1160-63) Muslim sect took control of Al-Andalus
  • (1212) Reconquista eliminated Moorish rule
  • (1248) Fernando III of Castille captured Seville
  • (1469) Ferdinand of Aragon and Isabella of Castile marry, brought much needed stability
  • (1478) The Catholic Spanish Inquisition began
  • (1492) Granada captured, Moors defeated; Christopher Columbus began voyages of discovery
1700s - 1800s
  • (1702-14) War of Spanish Succession; Bourbon dynasty accepted Spanish throne
  • (1808-14) Peninsular War against Napoleon
  • (1898) Spanish-American five-month War; Spain lost colonies including Cuba, Guam and Puerto Rico
  • (1931) Spain became a Republic
  • (1936-39) Francisco Franco forces victorious in Spanish Civil War; dictatorship established
  • (1959) ETA established - a soon to be powerful Basque Fatherland and Freedom group
  • (1968) West African colony of Spanish Guinea granted independence as Equatorial Guinea
  • (1973) Basque nationalists assassinated Prime Minister Admiral Luis Carrero Blanco in Madrid
  • (1975) Franco died, Juan Carlos de Borbon declared king. Spain became a constitutional monarchy
  • (1977) Democratic elections held
  • (1978) Spain's new constitution established a parliamentary monarchy
  • (1980) ETA fighting killed 118 people
  • (1981) Military coup failed
  • (1982) Spain joined NATO
  • (1986) Spain joined EEC
  • (1992) Barcelona hosted Summer Olympic games; Seville hosted Expo 92
  • (1995) Spain joined European Community
  • (1996) Jose Maria Aznar became Prime Minister
  • (1998) Donana National Park severely contaminated by a toxic waste spill
  • (2000) ETA responsible for Madrid car bombings
  • (2002) All currency replaced by the Euro; Oil tanker spill on north coast
  • (2003) 62 Spanish peacekeepers returning from Afghanistan killed in plane crash in Turkey
  • (2004) Islamic terrorists attacked Atocha train station in Madrid with bombs; 191 people killed, hundreds injured; Zapatero elected Prime Minister, Spanish troops left Iraq
  • (2005) Madrid car bombing killed 40
  • (2006) ETA declared ceasefire; Over 20,000 illegal immigrants from Africa arrived in the Canary Islands
  • (2007) Spanish Embassy in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo, struck by grenade; seven people hurt at Running of the Bulls; forest fires on two Canary Islands forced 11,000 to evacuate
  • (2008) Plane crash in Madrid killed 153; Historical Memory Law passed, people (approx. 500,000) who had to flee Spain during Civil War have right to apply for Spanish citizenship

Spain Photographs

Photos used are from public domain sources and from