1. Home
  2. Countries
  3. Ecuador

Ecuadorean Symbols

Map of Ecuador
Locator Map of Ecuador

Flag of Ecuador

Ecuador's Quick Facts

Land Area 276,841 km2
Water Area 6,720 km2
Total Area 283,561 km2
Population 16,080,778
Population Density 56.71 / km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $182.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $11,000
Currency Dollar (USD)
Largest Cities
  • Guayaquil (2,994,218)
  • Quito (1,873,763)
  • Cuenca (418,372)
  • Santo Domingo (355,471)
  • Bird: Andean condor
  • Coat of Arms:

    ecuador coat of arms

  • Coat of Arms: The shield is composed of mount Chimborazo, and the Guayas river which symbolize the beauty and wealth of the country. Above the land is a golden sun surrounded by the astrological signs for Aries, Taurus, Gemini and Cancer. These represent the months of March through July, and symbolizes the duration of the March Revolution of 1845.

    The bird atop the shield is the Andean Condor, and his outstretched wings symbolize the power, greatness and strength of Ecuador. The shield is flanked by the four flags of Ecuador. The laurel on the left represents the victories of the republic, while the palm leaf on the right side is a symbol of the martyrs of the fight for independence and liberty. The Fasces below the shield represents the republican dignity.
  • Flag of Ecuador
  • Flower: Rose
  • Motto: "Dios, patria y libertad" "God, homeland and liberty."

Latest by WorldAtlas