Pitcairn Islands

The island was discovered in 1767 by the British and settled in 1790 by the Bounty mutineers and their Tahitian companions. Pitcairn was the first Pacific island to become a British colony (in 1838) and today remains the last vestige of that empire in the South Pacific. 

Outmigration, primarily to New Zealand, has thinned the population from a peak of 233 in 1937 to less than 50 today 

Quick Facts and Figures

  • Official Name Pitcairn Islands (A British dependent territory, claimed 1887, including the (3) uninhabited outer islands of Ducie, Henderson and Oeno)
  • Capital City Adamstown 
  • Languages English (official), Pitcairnese 
  • Official Currency New Zealand Dollar 
  • Religions Seventh-Day Adventist 
  • Population 48 
  • Land Area (all 4 islands) 47 sq km (18.1 sq mi)
  • Latitude/Longitude 25º 04' S, 130º 06' W


  • Oceania Map here 
  • Pitcairn Islands Map CIA version here

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on July 12, 2016.