1. Home
  2. Countries
  3. Malaysia

Malaysian Flag

Flag of Malaysia

Malaysia's Quick Facts

Land Area 328,657 km2
Water Area 1,190 km2
Total Area 329,847 km2
Population 30,949,962
Population Density 93.83 / km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
GDP (PPP) $863.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $27,200
Currency Ringgit (MYR)
Largest Cities
  • Kuala Lumpur (7,996,830)
  • Johor Bahru (1,023,900)
  • Ipoh (813,553)
  • Kuching (611,566)
  • Kota Kinabalu (549,586)
  • Kuantan (502,866)
  • Seremban (474,691)
  • Kuala Terengganu (384,369)
  • Sandakan (375,248)
  • Kota Bharu (347,673)
Malaysia Flag:
Flag of Malaysia

The Malaysia flag was officially adopted on September 16, 1963.

Using the U.S. flag as a model, the 14 red and white stripes represent the 14 states of the country.

The gold crescent and star are symbols of Islam. The blue field represents the unity of the people.

Larger Malaysia flag

Malaysia Coat of Arms:
Flag of Malaysia

Adopted in 1965, the Malaysian coat of arms features two tigers supporting a shield (which serves as a representation of the Malaysian states), a crescent and 14-point star at the top.

The national motto, "Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu" (Unity is Strength) in on the ribbon below.

Latest by WorldAtlas