Jupiter: the Largest Planet in the Solar System

A diagram showing the planets of the solar system, with Jupiter showing prominence as the largest planet.

There are eight recognized planets in the solar system. Each planet has unique features that distinguish itself from other planets. One of the features is the diameter size of the planets. Jupiter is the planet with the longest diameter, therefore it is the largest planet in the solar system.

Rank of the planets

The following are planets in descending order based on their size.


The universe's largest planet is Jupiter, which has a diameter of 142,800 meters. It has colored patterns of clouds formed by the massive, swirling atmospheric storms. Helium and hydrogen are the main contents of the interior part of the planet. Jupiter also has a faint ring system and 63 moons orbiting the planet.


Saturn has a diameter of 120,660 meters. Its interior part mainly contains the liquid helium and hydrogen formed due to the high pressure. Saturn has 62 moons orbiting the planet alongside the complex and an extensive set of rings.


Uranus is a planet that has unique seasonal variations because it spins on a plane with the sun's orbit. Its diameter is 51,118 meters and it contains a significant amount of methane in its atmosphere. The planet is cold and there are 27 moons that orbit it alongside a faint ring system.


Neptune is the furthest planet from the sun with a diameter of 59,528 meters. It is a very cold planet since it is far from the sun. Besides, Neptune's atmosphere contains a large amount of methane, making the planet blue. Thirteen moons orbit the planets alongside a faint ring system.


Earth is a terrestrial planet that has a diameter of 12,756 meters. It is the only planet that supports life and has liquid water on its surface. The Earth has living beings since its atmosphere contains the important gases for life (Oxygen, Nitrogen, and Carbon (IV) Oxide).


Venus is located second from the sun and with a diameter of 12,104 meters. The planet's surface is hot (approximately 900℉) and cratered. Venus' atmosphere is very thick in its Carbon (IV) Oxide and sulfuric acid content. Unfortunately, Venus is inhabitable since the air pressure in its atmosphere is very high, ninety times the Earth's atmospheric pressure to be specific.


The diameter of Mars is 6,787 meters. The planet has a very thin atmosphere but a relatively low surface temperature that ranges from -171℉ to 32℉. The iron oxide in the planet's soil makes its surface red, hence the nickname Red Planet.


Mercury has a diameter of 4,879 meters which makes it the smallest of the planets. Since it is very close to the sun, the temperature of Mercury's cratered surface can reach 800℉. Mercury does not have rings or moons but it has a very thin atmosphere.

Planets’ types

Terrestrial and gas giant planets are the two main categories of planets. The first four planets from the sun are the terrestrial planets. The other four planets fall under the category of giant planets. These planets are large mainly due to their large atmospheres that have small and icy cores.

Which Planet is the Largest?

RankPlanet NameDiameter

More in Society