Which Countries Have A Coastline On The Ligurian Sea?

Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy along the Ligurian Sea coast.

The Ligurian Sea is part of the Mediterranean Sea lying between the southeastern coast of France and the northwestern coast of Italy. It is known as “Mer Ligurienne” in French, “Mar Ligure" in Italian, and "Mare Ligusticum" in Latin,  The Ligurian Sea is probably named after the pre-Roman inhabitants known as the Ligures people who came under the dominion of Rome in the 1st century BCE. The sea is positioned between Liguria to the north, Tuscany to the east and the Island of Corsica to the south. Many rivers originating from the Apennines drain into the Ligurian Sea. The sea consists of deep basin reaching a depth of more than 9,300 feet in some parts. The coastal areas of the Ligurian Sea are among the most urbanized and industrialized, particularly along the Italian coastline and have several Marine Protected Areas.

Liguria - Italy

Liguria is among the smallest regions of Italy that border the Ligurian Sea in the northwestern part of the country. It consists of the Province of Imperia, Genoa, La Spezia, and Savona. The Maritime Alps dominates Liguria up to the Cadibona Pass and to the east of Ligurian Apennines. The Ligurian Arc at Voltri near Genoa divides the narrow, picturesquely indented fringe of the Italian Riviera into the Levante Riviera and the Ponente Riviera. The population in the region is concentrated around the coastal area.

Tuscany - Italy

The Tuscany region in west-central Italy lies along the Ligurian Sea and the Tyrrhenian Sea and consists of the provinces of Lucca, Massa-Carrara, Pistoria, Firenze, Prato, Arezzo, Grosseto, Pisa, Livorno, and Siena. The region is among the best agricultural regions in the country specializing in wines, olive oil, and cereals. It is bordered by the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines and the Apuan Alps to the north and northeast.

Corsica - France

Corsica Island, a territorial collectivity of France, is located in the Mediterranean Sea and borders the Ligurian Sea. It covers an estimated 3,352 square miles making it the fourth largest island in the Mediterranean after Sicily, Sardinia, and Cyprus. It is situated 105 miles south of France and 56 miles from the northwestern part of Italy. Corsica is separated from Sardinia by a 7-mile Strait of Bonifacio. The terrain on the island is mountainous with two-thirds of it consisting of the ancient crystalline massif. The island has a cluster of 20 peaks that exceed 6,500 feet with Mount Cinto reaching an elevation of 8,890 feet above sea level.

Attractions on the Ligurian Sea Coastline

The crystal clear sea is rich in natural treasures and offers tourists a wide variety of activities. Some of the popular tourist sites include Genoa which is the capital of Liguria and is among the most beautiful centers in Europe. Genoa was listed as a World Heritage site by UNESCO in 2006. The Cinque Terre is among the most beautiful places in Italy and consists of five villages some of which are perched on cliffs overlooking the sea. Other amazing places to visit along the sea include Portofino, Portovenere, Camogli, San Fruttuoso, Dolceacqua, and Apricale.


More in Environment